Archive for May, 2007

NEAR Hall of Famer Dick Eagan Passes at 87

Clayton R. (Dick) Eagan

CLAYTON R. (DICK) EAGAN – Born June 12, 1919 died May 3, 2007 – Lake Panasoffkee, FL – World War II veteran of US Army Air force 1941-1944 – He is a charter member of the VFW of Springdale, CT 96117.

He was a Racecar driver of midgets and stockcars late 1940's – 1950's.

Honored by Auto Racing Legends, Daytona, FL and New England Antique Racers (NEAR)

He was a small business owner in Suffield, CT and Florida until retirement.

His wife of 63 years, Helen Reynolds Eagan, predeceased Dick in 2001.

Continue reading ‘NEAR Hall of Famer Dick Eagan Passes at 87’

Annarummo Leads List of Seekonk Speedway Winners

Seekonk, MA — Six-time Seekonk Speedway track champion Vinnie Annarummo of Swansea, MA led all 40 laps of the 1/3-mile oval’s Pro Stock feature on Saturday, May 12, to earn his 42nd career victory at the Route 6 facility. The 57-year old veteran, who won his first race in 1972, won his qualifying heat and started on the pole in the Francis Farm-sponsored #10 Ford in the main event.

John Dabrowski and Tom Scully, Jr. ran second and third in the early laps before a multi-car incident involving Mike Brightman and Fred Astle, Jr. brought out the first of two caution flags. Opening Day winner David Darling and second generation ace Todd Annarummo, who started 12th, rocketed into the top five on the restart before Matt Hudon and Brightman locked horns on lap 11, bringing out the second yellow and sending rookie Scott Dion into the outside retaining wall.

The final 30 laps were run caution-free, allowing Vinnie, and son Todd, who passed Scully for second on lap 13, to open up a four-second lead on the rest of the field. Darling, Dean Pettey, and Kenny Spencer ran fourth through sixth for much of the race, and were soon joined by Astle, who powered his way back to the front of the pack via the outside lane. Astle took third on lap 36 but could do little with the lead duo, which crossed the line nearly a straightaway ahead of him.

Continue reading ‘Annarummo Leads List of Seekonk Speedway Winners’

May 2007
« Feb   Jul »