Archive for August 19th, 2007

Hinckley Outruns Annarummo To Capture Airgas 100 At Seekonk Speedway

leshinckley1.jpgSeekonk, MA — Windsor Locks, CT’s Les Hinckley overpowered local favorite Vinnie Annarummo on a lap 84 restart and held off the veteran to capture the Airgas 100 for the visiting True Value Modified Racing Series at the 1/3-mile Seekonk Speedway oval on Saturday night, August 18. 

Annarummo, 58, of Swansea, MA, started on the outside pole after winning his qualifying heat and blasted off into the lead with Jack Bateman, Jimmy Dolan, Andy Seuss, and Jimmy Kuhn following in the early going. The 24-car field reeled off the first 50 laps in just 10 minutes, with the first of two cautions waving for a single-car spin at lap 56. By this point Hinckley, who started 15th, had made his way to fourth, taking eighth on lap 25 and fifth from ’06 Seekonk winner Louie Mechalides on the 43rd circuit. Hinckley, who won the initial True Value Seekonk event in 2004, took third on the restart and claimed second on lap 62. 

Hinckley could alongside Annarummo’s right rear fender in the outside groove but was unable to execute a pass for the lead as the pair navigated lapped traffic and battled one another into the event’s final stages. Richard Savary and Mike Douglas locked horns to bring out the second caution with 84 laps complete, setting up the final restart with Annarummo and Hinckley alongside one another. 

Continue reading ‘Hinckley Outruns Annarummo To Capture Airgas 100 At Seekonk Speedway’

Gada Prevails; Botticello Rallies

news020429a.jpgWaterford, CT — Dennis Gada prevailed for the fourth time in 2007, taking the 35-lap SK Modified feature. Passing early leader Diego Monahan with 22-laps remaining, the defending track champion took command on a number of late-race restarts to win by several car lengths. The event marked Gada’s 56th career Speedbowl victory.

Other feature winners were Dennis Botticello (Late Model), Jim Procaccini (Sportsman), Danny Field (Mini Stocks), and Bill Leonard (All Star Race Trucks).

Continue reading ‘Gada Prevails; Botticello Rallies’

Chris Perley Becomes ISMA’s all-time feature winner with Oxford Win

Oxford, ME — Chris Perley of Rowley, Mass., became the all-time winner in International Supermodified Association history Saturday night, dominating the New England Dodge Dealers Maine Classic at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The 75-lap triumph was the ninth victory in 12 starts this season for Perley, who also won an event at Lee USA Speedway in New Hampshire on Friday evening.

Continue reading ‘Chris Perley Becomes ISMA’s all-time feature winner with Oxford Win’

Abold Grabs Wall Township 25-Lap Focus Feature

Belmar, N.J — USAC Northeast Ford Focus Series point leader Jeff ABold of Pennellville, N.Y. won Saturday night’s 25-lap feature at Wall Township Speedway in his Team Abold Racing/A & P Automotive Hawk, leading all 25 laps. Jeremy Tsihlis, Shaun Gosselin, P.J. Stergios and Jake Stergios rounded out the “top-five.”

Sources: USAC PR

Kobyluck Stays On Course For Win At Lime Rock In Mohegan Sun 200

nascarbes.jpgLakeville, CT — Mohegan Sun Chevrolet driver Matt Kobyluck of Uncasville, Conn., muscled his way to a spectacular victory in the Mohegan Sun 200 at Lime Rock Park, the NASCAR Busch East Series’ only road course race of the season Saturday afternoon.

The 82-lap, 125.46-mile event was a short-track style affair was action packed with five full course cautions and intermittent “local” caution periods.

Continue reading ‘Kobyluck Stays On Course For Win At Lime Rock In Mohegan Sun 200’

Annual Seymour Memorial On Tap this Weekend at Seekonk

Groton, CT — It is considered by most to be the marquee event of the season for the Northeastern Midget Association. On Saturday night, August 25, 2007, the Seekonk Speedway and the Seymour Family proudly present the 11th Annual Boston Louie Seymour Memorial Coors Light Silver Cup Classic. This prestigious event honors the patriarch of the noted Seymour Racing family of Marlborough, MA.

The “Boston” Louie Seymour Memorial Coors Light Silver Cup Classic is presented annually by the Seymour Family and a host of sponsors to pay tribute to one of Midget racing’s most endearing characters. Termed the “man who traveled a million miles”, Seymour earned notoriety nationally for his ability to build stout race cars and winning race teams. While traveling the country from his home in Massachusetts, Louie Seymour earned accolades at the top level of open-wheel racing with prominent drivers like Kenny Schrader.

Continue reading ‘Annual Seymour Memorial On Tap this Weekend at Seekonk’

August 2007
« Jul   Sep »