Archive for September 16th, 2007

Gada Takes Sixth Win, Dorr Clinches Sportsman Title at Speedbowl

Waterford, CT — Dennis Gada made it two in a row Saturday evening at the Waterford Speedbowl, defeating current point leader Rob Janovic Jr. to win his sixth SK Modified feature of 2007.

Other feature winners were Tim Jordan (Late Model), Jack Aquilina (Sportsman), Phil Evans (Mini Stock), David Syren (X Car), and, Brad Whipple (Faster Pastor).     

Continue reading ‘Gada Takes Sixth Win, Dorr Clinches Sportsman Title at Speedbowl’

Spencer Claims Pro Stock Win, Darling Clinches Second Seekonk Championship

Seekonk, MA — Former Late Model champion and Pro Stock Rookie of the Year Kenny Spencer ended a season-long dry spell, going green to checker to post his first win of the campaign in the 40-lap Pro Stock feature at the 1/3-mile Seekonk Speedway oval on Saturday night. Spencer started on the outside pole after winning his heat race, dueling in the opening laps with fellow qualifying event winner Dean Pettey at the top of the field.

The first of three cautions was displayed for a multi-car crash on the second go-around which involved Billy Manchester and Joe Cerullo and eliminated previous race winner Fred Astle, Jr. Spencer and Pettey continued their battle for supremancy until a minor spin brought out the second caution at lap 8. When racing resumed, third place runner David Hutchins made contact with Pettey, seconding the second place car around, and triggering another multi-car pileup that eliminated Pettey and rookie Glenn Lawton and damaged the car of six-time winner and defending track champion David Darling.

Steve O’Brien inherited second when racing resumed, but was soon overtaken by U.S. Army combat veteran Scott Dion, who turned in his finest showing of the year on the track’s Armed Forces Appreciation Day. At the halfway point, Spencer and Dion ran first and second with Rob Murphy and Steve O’Brien locked in a heated struggle for third. Tom Scully, Jr. sat fifth, followed by Mike Brightman, John Dabrowski, Cerullo, Wayne Newman, and Darling. Cerullo and Darling climbed the ladder in the waning laps of the race while Scully began to pressure O’Brien.

Continue reading ‘Spencer Claims Pro Stock Win, Darling Clinches Second Seekonk Championship’

September 2007
« Aug   Oct »