NEMA Ends ’08 Season At Twin State

Claremont, NH — The Northeastern Midget Association brings its 2008 campaign to a close at this weekend’s rescheduled Open Wheel Sunday at Twin State Speedway in Claremont, NH. Although both NEMA and Twin State are among New England’s oldest racing institutions, the Midgets have run only two features at the semi-banked third mile.

Twin State is a major challenge. Kyle Carpenter was the last winner, besting Joey Payne Jr. and Adam Cantor in 2005. Dave Humphrey (1973) is the only other NEMA Twin State winner.

It is the final opportunity for teams to grab that elusive win. Adam Cantor (Cantor 7ny), Erica Santos (Breault 44), Jeremy Frankoski (Bertrand 47b)and Nokie Fornoro (Jarret 4) have had impressive runs this year. Fornoro came from last to second last week at Thompson’s World Series. Erica Santos and Frankoski have been second this year (both at Waterford Speedbowl) while Cantor has been in the top five nine times.

They hope to join a win list that includes champion Randy Cabral, Bobby Santos III, Greg Stoehr, Payne and Jeff Abold. Coveted top-10 spots in both the driver and owner standings are still to be determined.

Their respective championships secured, there are still things to be accomplished for Cabral and owner Tim Bertrand. They’re after a fourth straight and a ninth overall win. Fornoro was the last to win four in a row (in was actually six straight) driving for Mike Scrivani in 1981.

The six straight tied the record for consistency established by Joe Csiki in 1963. Csiki won 11 times that year. Fornoro won 10 of 20 in ’81.

Sources: Pete Zanardi/NEMA PR

October 2008
« Sep   Nov »