Archive for November 8th, 2009

Myers Goes Back-to-Back in North South Shootout; Hirschman Makes History with SK Win & Fultz Scores Emotional Late Model Victory

Concord, NC  — The South rose again at the 7th Annual John Blewett III Memorial North-South Shootout on Saturday night as Burt Myers of Walnut Cove, NC, successfully defended his North-South Shootout championship. It was the second straight victory for Myers in Shootout Modified competition at the annual event. By virtue of his victory Myers earned $13,080 in prize money and contingencies.

Matt Hirschman of Northampton, PA, made history with his victory in the SK-Type Modified event on Saturday. Hirschman, a previous Tour Modified victor, became the first driver to win in both the Tour-Type and SK-Type Modifieds. Just days after losing his son in a tragic accident, Jeff Fultz of Troutman, NC, bested a talent-laden field of Super Late Models to score the WearCrete North-South Shootout victory. Dave Steele of Tampa, FL was victorious in the Tampa Bay Area Racing Association (TBARA) Sprint car debut at the Shootout. A pair of NJ natives combined to take the Vintage action at the Shootout. Pete Brittain of Oakhurst, NJ, and Anthony Colosimo of Red Bank, NJ were winners in Vintage Modified and Vintage Sportsman divisions respectively.
Continue reading ‘Myers Goes Back-to-Back in North South Shootout; Hirschman Makes History with SK Win & Fultz Scores Emotional Late Model Victory’

NEAR Hall of Fame Adds Harty, Blackadar, Arnold

Pioneer car builder Marty Harty, the late race official Archie Blackadar and the late Chuck Arnold, a driver with much open-cockpit success, have been added to the New England Auto Racing’s Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010 by the organization’s Veterans Committee.

The trio will join eight previously selected nominees at the 14th annual Induction Banquet on Sunday, Jan. 31 at LaRenaissance Banquet Hall in East Windsor, CT. Ticket forms will be on the NEAR website ( in the near future.

The three veterans will be inducted along with the previously selected drivers Geoff Bodine, the late Mike Murphy, George Savary and Pete Fiandaca, car owner/builders Billy Simons, Bob Garbarino and Vic Miller and contributor extraordinaire Frank Ferrara.
Continue reading ‘NEAR Hall of Fame Adds Harty, Blackadar, Arnold’

November 2009
« Oct   Dec »