Archive for April 7th, 2010

Modified Races To Air On VERSUS

Nine NASCAR Whelen Modified & NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Races to Air on VERSUS

Daytona Beach, FL — NASCAR and VERSUS announced the broadcast schedule for the NASCAR Whelen Modified and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tours in 2010.

VERSUS’ first NASCAR race will feature the Whelen Modified Tour’s annual appearance at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway and the first Whelen Southern Modified Tour broadcast will be its stop at historic Bowman Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C.

VERSUS’ on-air schedule will include nine races between the two Tours with the premiere one-hour race telecast airing on Wednesdays at 7 p.m. ET. All races will air again the Sunday following the initial telecast.

Continue reading ‘Modified Races To Air On VERSUS’

Statistical Advance: Analyzing The Icebreaker At Thompson International Speedway

Daytona Beach, FL — The 2010 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour season will take the green flag in the Icebreaker at Thompson (Conn.) International Speedway on Sunday, April 11.

At Thompson International Speedway:
• Opened on May 26, 1940 as the first asphalt racing surface in the United States, and the largest track in New England at the time.
• Has one of the oldest NASCAR affiliations in the nation.
• Held NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races in 1951, 1969 and 1970.
• Has played host to 109 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races, the most of any facility in the NWMT’s first 25 years of competition.
• Features six NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions as part of the “Thursday Night Thompson Thunder.”
• There have been 29 different race winners at TIS, led by Mike Stefanik’s 14 victories.
• There have been 36 different pole winners at TIS, led by Jeff Fuller’s 13.
• Ted Christopher earned the pole and the race win in the 2009 Icebreaker … He also won the 2009 World Series at TIS, and has gone to Victory Lane in three of the last four races at the track.
• The preliminary entry list for the Icebreaker features nine drivers who have won at TIS during their careers: Stefanik (14), Christopher (9), Ed Flemke Jr. (4), Ron Silk (3), Todd Szegedy (3), Eric Beers (1), James Civali (1), Chuck Hossfeld (1) and Bobby Santos (1).

Continue reading ‘Statistical Advance: Analyzing The Icebreaker At Thompson International Speedway’

April 2010
« Mar   May »