Archive for July 18th, 2011

Mechalides Ends Drought, Scores Big At Ricky’s Race

Canaan, NH — Louie Mechalides of Tyngsboro, MA., made his first win in four years a big one Saturday night when he drove to victory in the 4th annual “Ricky’s Race for Kids” 112-lap modified race, at Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, NH., before a large crowd. The victory, Mechalides’ fifth career series win, earned the veteran driver a $12,000 payday. The race benefited David’s House, of Lebanon, NH.

Mechalides, driving for Lowell, MA., car owner Kevin Stuart, started on the pole and led the entire 112 laps He received early pressure from series champion, Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, MA., rookie Tommy Barrett, JR, of Millis, MA., then Preston, CT., veteran Kenny Barry who tried for 25 laps but could not overtake the race leader.

Kirk Alexander, Swanzey, NH., gave it his best, laps 45 through 64, and Mike Stefanik, of Coventry, RI., worked over the leader from lap 65 to the finish. But it was Mechalides’ night. It was his first win since September 23, 2007.

Continue reading ‘Mechalides Ends Drought, Scores Big At Ricky’s Race’

Competition Red Hot As NEMA Visits ‘Konk

Brockton, MA – With three winners in the past three races, the Northeastern Midget Association takes what has turned into a very competitive situation into Seekonk Speedway’s Open Wheel Wednesday (July 20). It is the club’s first Seekonk 2011 visit.

Greg Stoehr, a winner last Friday night at Lee, will be looking for two straight in the 25-lap feature. Point leader Russ Stoehr will be in pursuit of his fourth triumph this year. Mike Horn, who ended Russ Stoehr’s win streak at Thompson, is the other winner.

Greg has climbed to within 67 points of his older brother. The siblings have eight Seekonk wins between them.

Continue reading ‘Competition Red Hot As NEMA Visits ‘Konk’

PASS National Championship Trail Heads North to Thompson Thursday

Naples, ME — The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) super late model teams all look forward to their annual visit to Thompson (CT) International Speedway and once again the fast five eighths is a key player in the six race PASS National Championship series.

The Thursday July 21 event marks the half-way point in the six race National Championship Series and the standings couldn’t be much tighter. PASS South star Jay Fogleman leads the all time PASS race winner and four time six time PASS champion Ben Rowe by a scant two points after races at Hickory (NC) Motor Speedway and Motor Mile Speedway in Virginia.

Rowe already owns a National Championship (2009) and Fogleman wants one of his own. The pair were part of a four way North/South showdown in last year’s edition, a 75 lap sprint that has been extended to 100 laps for 2011.

Rowe came out on top of a battle with Fogleman, 2010 National and PASS South Champ Preston Peltier, and Johnny Clark. All four are pre entered in Thursday night’s event and you can expect them all to be contenders.

Continue reading ‘PASS National Championship Trail Heads North to Thompson Thursday’