Stat Advance: Newport News Shipbuilding 150

Analyzing the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour at Langley

Daytona Beach, FL — The seventh  season of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour  continues  at Langley Speedway with the Newport News Shipbuilding 150 on Saturday, Sept. 3. The race will be contested on the historic .396-mile track located in Hampton, Va.

Tim Brown (No. 02 Chevrolet)
• Finished second in the season-ending points standings a record three times from 2006-2008.

• Has 66 career NWSMT starts, ranks second in top-five finishes with 38 and has 52 top-10 finishes.
• Has six wins, the most recent came on Sept. 4, 2010 at Langley Speedway, his first since 2008.

George Brunnhoelzl III (No. 09 Chevrolet)
• The 2009 NWSMT champion has returned to the tour in 2011 after competing full-time on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour last season.

• Competes for veteran car owner Howard Harvey.
• Owner of seven wins, 10 poles and 36 top 10s in 50 career NWSMT starts.
• Will make his first start at Langley Speedway this Saturday.

Frank Fleming (No. 40 Ford)
• Is tied for the most career NWSMT starts with 79 and has only missed one race since 2005.

• Was credited with his first career win as the highest finishing NWSMT driver in the UNOH Perfect Storm 150 at Bristol Motor Speedway.
• Has finished second seven times, the most recent one at Caraway was on July 3, 2009.
• Has more than 50 career wins at his home track, Bowman Gray.
• Finished ninth last year at Langley.
• Brother, Chris Fleming, serves as his crew chief.

L.W. Miller (No. 36 Pontiac)
• The 2007 NWSMT Champion. Won by 25 points over Tim Brown (1,930-1,905).

• Finished second in the 2010 final standings, 31 points behind Burt Myers.
• Holds the record for the most career wins on the NWSMT with 13, in just 62 starts.
• Most recent win on the tour was at Bowman Gray Stadium on Aug. 6, 2011.
• Has a win (Martinsville) and 10 top 10s in 75 career NWMT starts.
• Has also made 13 NASCAR Nationwide Series and six NASCAR Camping World Truck Series starts.

Burt Myers (No. 1 Ford)
• Defending NWSMT champion.

• Holds NWSMT career records for poles (22), top-fives (41) and top-10s (62).
• Has 25 top-10 finishes in 33 career starts at Caraway.
• Picked up his most recent win at Charlotte on Oct. 14, 2010.

Jason Myers (No. 4 Ford)
• Is tied with Frank Fleming for most career NWSMT starts with 78.

• Picked up his lone win at Bowman Gray on Aug. 5, 2006.
• Has 56 total top-10 finishes since 2005.
• Holds the record for consecutive NWSMT starts with 71; started every race since Martinsville (9/5/05).

Andy Seuss (No. 11 Chevrolet)
• Finished fifth last season at Langley.

• Hampstead, N.H., native has nine career wins, including a single-season high of four victories in 2009.
• Led more laps last season than any other driver with 318.
• Has 36 top-10 finishes in 51 career NWSMT starts.
• Also has three top-10 finishes in 23 career NWMT starts.

John Smith (No. 25 Chevrolet)
• Has 26 career starts at Caraway and picked up his first NWSMT win at the track on July 3, 2010.

• Has 41 top-10 finishes in 58 career NWSMT starts.
• Finished in the top 10 in the final points standings three years in a row (2008-2010), with a career-best fifth last year.
• Works full-time at Richard Childress Racing.

Thomas Stinson (No. 7 Chevrolet)
• Finished second to record his best career finish in 14 starts at Caraway on April 23, 2011. Stinson also finished third in the first race of the year at Caraway on March 13.

• Has 10 top-10 and three top-five finishes in 25 career NWSMT starts.


Langley Speedway Data
Race: #9 of 14 overall

Track Layout: .396-mile paved oval
Banking: variable
Race Length: 150 laps/59.40 miles

Qualifying/Race Data
2010 pole winner: James Civali

2010 race winner: Tim Brown
Track qualifying record: James Civali (90.365 mph, 15.537 seconds, 9/4/10)
Track race record (150 L): Tim Brown (70.130 mph, 50:03 min., 9-4-10)

NWSMT All-Time Win Leaders At Langley Speedway
1. Tim Brown 1

NWSMT Top-10 Points Standings
1. George Brunnhoelzl III 1349

1. John Smith 1224
3. L.W. Miller 1211
4. Jason Myers 1210
5. Andy Seuss. 1201
6. Frank Fleming 1158
7. Tim Brown 1106
8. Austin Pack 1071
9. Burt Myers 882
10. Thomas Stinson 742

Up To Speed:
• Since the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour formed in 2005, there have been 80 races in the history of the tour.

• The NWSMT has crowned five different champions: Junior Miller (2005, 2006), L.W. Miller (2007), Brian Loftin (2008), George Brunnhoelzl III (2009) and Burt Myers (2010) during its previous six years of competition.
• Loftin captured the pole and Brunnhoelzl the checkered flag in the 2011 season opener at Caraway Speedway on March 13.
• Brunnhoelzl took the checkered flag at Hickory Motor Speedway on April 2, for his second win of the season.
• Ted Christopher won the rain-delayed race at South Boston over Brunnhoelzl.
• Christopher returned the next week and won the Caraway 150 in April at Caraway Speedway for his sixth career southern modified win.
• L.W. Miller returned to Victory Lane after almost a year-long absence winning the Firecracker 150 presented by Budweiser. It was his 12th career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour win giving the record outright. He was tied with Brian Loftin and Junior Miller for the mark prior to the Caraway race.
• L.W. Miller kept his hot streak alive and made it two wins in a row by taking the 199 at Bowman Gray Stadium for his 13th career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour win. He also moved up to third place in the current point standings.
• Frank Fleming made history when he finished the UNOH Perfect Storm 150 with the best showing by a NASCAR Whelen Southern Division regular at Bristol Motor Speedway. Fleming’s eighth-place spot in the final overall rundown gave him credit for his first career win on the tour in his 78th start.
• Andy Seuss scored an emotional win at Caraway when he won the Caraway 150 last time out driving his old car from the 2010 season for car owner Eddie Harvey and old car owner David Riggs. Riggs also won the race in 2010.
Fast Facts:
• This will be the second NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race at Langley Speedway, and the second visit to the Commonwealth of Virginia.

• The track was built in 1950 and hosted what is now known as the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series from 1964 until 1970.
• A total of four drivers who have visited Victory Lane in the NWSMT races this season will compete this weekend. Leading the group will be George Brunnhoelzl III and L.W. Miller, who each have two wins this season. The other two race winners are Frank Fleming and Andy Seuss.

Sources:Tim Southers/NASCAR WSMT PR

August 2011
« Jul   Sep »