Park Jefferson Int. Speedway Next In Line For Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour

TULSA, Okla. (July 25, 2016) The road to Knoxville is a little shorter as the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network heads for the southeastern corner of South Dakota for a little Thursday Night Thunder this week.

Thursday, July 28, the Park Jefferson International Speedway, located just south of Jefferson, S.D. will welcome the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network for the first time with the “Sioux City Summer Slidefest” thanks in part to Pepsi.

A little history on the South Dakota oval, before the sound of horsepower, headlined events at Park Jefferson, it was the sound of Horses as the facility has been a Horse Track until closing in 1982. Purchased by Ted Carlson in 1984, grandstands were trucked in from University of Minnesota football field and track reshaped to a four-tenths mile, high-banked oval. Closing in 2012, the track was purchased by Adam Adamson in February, 2014 and re-opened in June of that year.

While this Thursday’s trip to the Park Jefferson International Speedway is the first for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, the track has seen ASCS competition as the former Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region saw laps first in 2005 with Brian Brown claiming the top spot in the July 4 showdown. Jason Johnson took the top podium step on June 15, 2006.

Returning to Park Jefferson in 2014, the August visit made history as Brandon, South Dakota’s Isaac Schreurs piloted his No. 612 machine to victory on August 16. Besting a field of 21, Schreurs, who was left paralyzed at the age of 14 following a Motocross accident, became the first paraplegic to win a major sprint car race at the age of 21.

With a strong contingent of area talent expected for this Thursday’s visit to Park Jefferson International Speedway, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. looks to continue his dominance of the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network. Currently leading with a 134 point advantage over Johnny Herrera in tour standings, the New Mexico native was able to chip away at some of that advantage at this past weekend’s “Rushmore Rumble” which saw Herrera sweeping the two-day affair to bring his deficit down from 162 markers.

Holding third in standings is Blake Hahn with Wayne Johnson closing back in to try and reclaim the position. Johnson, who had a mixed weekend in Rapid City rebounded from a Friday night DNF to sixth the following night and sits only 47 points behind Hahn who ended the weekend 12th and eighth respectively.

In the mix as well is Logan Forler who completes the top five in tour standings only three points off Wayne.

Making up ground over the month of July, Seth Bergman holds sixth with a chance to crack the top five. Matt Covington holds seventh with Aaron Reutzel eighth. A pair of podiums this past weekend helped close the No. 87 back into climbing contention in tour standings. Rejoining the National Tour at Rapid City, Kyle Bellm has moved to ninth in points with Brad Loyet completing the top-ten.

Thursday, July 28 at the Park Jefferson International Speedway will open at 5:00 P.M. with Hot Laps at 6:45 P.M. (CDT). General Admission is $25 with kids 6-16 getting in for only $10. Children five and under get into the grandstand for free.

Park Jefferson International Speedway is located just south of Jefferson, S.D. off Old U.S. Hwy. 77. For more information on the Park Jefferson International Speedway, call (712) 202-5540 or log onto
For updates and information on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto

Race Day Information:
What: Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MAVTV

Where: Park Jefferson Int. Speedway – N. Sioux City, S.D.
When: Thursday, July 28, 2016
Times: Open at 5:00 P.M. / Racing at 7:30 P.M. (CDT)
Location: 48426 332nd St, North Sioux City, South Dakota 57038
Phone: (712) 202-5540
Social Media:

ASCS History: Park Jefferson Int. Speedway: ASCS Regional competition has been seen at the four-tenths mile oval. July 28, 2016, marks the first time the National Tour has been to the South Dakota oval.

ASCS Midwest Winners: 7/4/2005 – Brian Brown (ASCS Midwest); 6/15/2006 – Jason Johnson (ASCS Midwest vs. Northern Plains); 8/16/2014 – Isaac Schreurs (ASCS Midwest)

2016 ASCS National Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,849; 2. Johnny Herrera 2,715; 3. Blake Hahn 2,464; 4. Wayne Johnson 2,444; 5. Logan Forler 2,441; 6. Seth Bergman 2,408; 7. Matt Covington 2,403; 8. Aaron Reutzel 2,347; 9. Kyle Bellm 1,551; 10. Brad Loyet 1,498;

2016 ASCS National Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 6 (5/13 – Texas Motor Speedway; 6/12 – Rt. 66 Motor Speedway; 6/18 – Lucas Oil Speedway; 6/25 – Skagit Speedway; 7/1 – Grays Harbor Raceway; 7/2 – Grays Harbor Raceway); Johnny Herrera 4 (3/17-Heart O’ Texas Speedway; 6/3-Hartford Speedway; 7/22 – Black Hills Speedway; 7/23 – Black Hills Speedway); Blake Hahn 2 (7/8 – Gallatin Speedway; 7/9 – Gallatin Speedway); Brad Loyet 2 (6/15 – Lawton Speedway; 6/17 – Mo. State Fair Speedway); Aaron Reutzel 1 (5/14 – Texas Motor Speedway); Wayne Johnson 1 (3/19-Devil’s Bowl Speedway); Brandon Hanks 1 (3/25-Cotton Bowl Speedway); Josh Baughman 1 (3/26 – Bronco Raceway Park); Brian Brown 1(5/5-Lakeside Speedway); Bryan Clauson 1 (6/16 – Creek County Speedway); Marc Duperron 1 (6/24 – Skagit Speedway);

ASCS National Drivers Online:
Josh Baughman:
Kyle Bellm:
Seth Bergman:
Matt Covington:
Sam Hafertepe, Jr.:
Blake Hahn:
Johnny Herrera:
Wayne Johnson:
Logan Forler:
Brad Loyet:
Aaron Reutzel:
Steven Russell:

ASCS Online:
American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast:
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): and the Race Monitor App

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV Motorsports Network is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix. All Heat Races are brought to you by ButlerBuilt Professional Seating Systems. All B-Features are presented by BMRS.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs,, Carlyle Tools, and General Tire.

Communications for the American Sprint Car Series is provided by Racing Electronics. All events are broadcast online at

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, Fuel Safe, DMI Rear Ends, BMRS, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection.

Sources: Bryan Hulbert/American Sprint Car Series PR

July 2016
« Jun   Aug »