McCallum Triumphs in New Thompson Pro Stock 100

Thompson, CT — Jim McCallum of Fall River, Mass. took his second 100 lap Pro Stock race at The New Thompson Speedway on Sunday night.  He was able to avoid the numerous wrecks and nine caution periods that whittled the original 37 starters down to 18 who were still running at the end of the Winston-Cumberland Farms 100 Presented by ABCO Refrigeration.  Mike Camarra of Kingston, Mass. and Rusty Bryant of Weymouth, Mass. brought the hungry field of cars down for the green flag.  But, by the seventh lap Camarra dropped back with Bryant inheriting the lead after two false starts.  Bryant continued to lead the race through two more yellow flag caution periods and was being shadowed by McCallum. 

On lap 47, McCallum was in the right spot when Bryant tangled with Fred Astle, Jr. another Fall River, Mass. driver which brought out the fifth yellow caution period of the race.  At the half-way mark, 50 laps, Jim McCallum was in firm control of the race and was able to avoid further trouble in four more successive yellow caution periods.  Roger Godin of Spencer, Mass. tried to stalk McCallum for the final 48 circuits but was never able to get a bead on the leader when the race was stopped for problems on the track four more times in the long event.  Godin had to be satisfied with the runner-up spot while Rusty Bryant was able to salvage a third place after a quick trip to the pits for new tires and some body work.  Chris Perley of Rowley, Mass., an infrequent competitor at The New Thompson Speedway came in fourth while Dick Houlihan of Berkley, Mass. rounded out the top five.  Winner McCallum took home the lion’s share of the $17,000 purse, which was $3,500.  “I was able to keep out of trouble and that’s what helped, said McCallum, a man of few words.

In the supporting division, Joshua Steeves of Uxbridge, Mass. recorded his first win of the season in the Late Model Stock Cars in the feature event that saw 26 starters take the green flag.  Steeves got the jump on leader Glenn Boss of Wakefield, RI with only two laps remaining in the 20 lap main event.  With Rick Gentes of Woonsocket, RI taking a second while Boss was able to salvage a third.  Alan Coates of Ledyard, Conn. was next and Mike Lovetere rounded out the top five.  In spite of recording on win this season, Steeves has several consistent finishes and leads the Late Model point standings.

 Corey Hutchings of Uncasville, Conn. took the lead in the Strictly Stock feature on the fifth circuit after he was able to avoid trouble in the three yellow caution periods in the feature event.  Scott Cook, also of Uncasville Conn. came in second.  Norm Beauvais of Mapleville, RI was next followed by Rick Souliere of Woonsocket, RI and Mark Jenison of Warwick, RI.

Lee Hayes of Fall River, Mass. won the Mini Stock feature and led that event from start to finish in a race that was caution free.   Buddy Savary of Avon, Mass. was the survivor of the Pro Four Modified race when top contenders such as his dad George Savary of Westwood, Mass. and Rick Summers both succumbed to mechanical problems in the early going.  Wayne Bellefleur of Willington, Conn. came in second and was followed to the stripe by Dan Meservey, Sr. of Chatham, Mass,. Dick Dubois of Charlton, Mass., and Keith Laferrier of Brimfield, Mass.

The New Thompson Speedway returns to action Sunday night for another full program of racing action including another appearance of the Sunoco All Star Modified Series.  Post time is set for 6p.m.


  1. Corey Hutchings , Uncasville, CT
  2. Scott Cook, Uncasville, CT
  3. Norm Beauvais, Mapleville, RI
  4. Rick Souliere, Woonsocket, RI
  5. Mark Jenison, Warwick, RI


  1. Joshua Steeves, Uxbridge MA
  2. Rick Gentes, Woonsocket, RI
  3. Glenn Boss, Narragansett, RI
  4. Allen Coates, Ledyard, CT
  5. Mike Lovetere, Oakdale, CT


  1. Lee Hayes, Fall River, MA
  2. Rod Rixham, Sutton, MA
  3. Chris Gagnon, Moosup, CT
  4. Ron Rixham, Jefferson, MA
  5. Mike Walsh, Westerly, RI


  1. Jim McCallum, Fall River, MA
  2. Roger Godin, Spencer, MA
  3. Rusty Bryant, Weymouth, MA
  4. Chris Perley, Rowley, MA
  5. Dick Houlihan, Berkley, MA


  1. Buddy Savary, Avon, MA
  2. Wayne Bellefleur, Willington, CT
  3. Dan Meservey, Sr., Chatham, MA
  4. Dick Dubois, Charlton City, MA
  5. Keith Laferrier, Brimfield, MA

Sources: New Thompson Speedway PR

August 1999
« Feb   Oct »