Archive for June 29th, 2000

T.C. Unbeatable at Thompson

Thompson, CT —  Thompson International Speedway finally played host to the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series divisions in Thursday Night Thompson Thunder after several weeks of bad weather. A full racing card featured both open-wheel and full-fendered excitement with the Sunoco Modifieds, NASCAR WRS Pro Stocks and all their support divisions. Winners on the evening included George Bessette, Bill McNeil, George Savary, Ted Christopher, Dennis Coates, Scott Bronczyk, and Lyle Wolfinger.

The Senior Tour Auto Racers were the first to take to the 5/8th mile oval. Mark Alden took down the win in the #21 Modified built by Winston Cup Legend Banjo Mathews and driven by George Savary. The S.T.A.R. Group honored George Savary in victory lane with an award for his 40 years in the sport. Fittingly 21 years ago the same Vega Modified sat in Thompson victory lane. Savary capped off the evening with a win in the Pro Four Modifieds.

Thirty-six Strictly Stocks took the green in the June 22nd Make-up feature. Randy Waterman of Danielson, CT showed the way through lap seven when on a restart Ed Puleo took the lead. Heavy hitters Bill McNeil, Ryan Stone, and Lyle Wolfinger were quickly making their way to the front from deep in the pack. The complexion of the race changed dramatically when Tim Taylor and Kevin Mason made contact on lap 17. The enduing pile-up eliminated several top ten contenders. Current point leader Ryan Stone suffered severe damage. The three-lap shoot out featured a battle between McNeil and Lyle Wolfinger. McNeil would hold on for the win.

Continue reading ‘T.C. Unbeatable at Thompson’

June 2000
« May   Jul »