Annarummo Leads List of Seekonk Speedway Winners

Seekonk, MA — Six-time Seekonk Speedway track champion Vinnie Annarummo of Swansea, MA led all 40 laps of the 1/3-mile oval’s Pro Stock feature on Saturday, May 12, to earn his 42nd career victory at the Route 6 facility. The 57-year old veteran, who won his first race in 1972, won his qualifying heat and started on the pole in the Francis Farm-sponsored #10 Ford in the main event.

John Dabrowski and Tom Scully, Jr. ran second and third in the early laps before a multi-car incident involving Mike Brightman and Fred Astle, Jr. brought out the first of two caution flags. Opening Day winner David Darling and second generation ace Todd Annarummo, who started 12th, rocketed into the top five on the restart before Matt Hudon and Brightman locked horns on lap 11, bringing out the second yellow and sending rookie Scott Dion into the outside retaining wall.

The final 30 laps were run caution-free, allowing Vinnie, and son Todd, who passed Scully for second on lap 13, to open up a four-second lead on the rest of the field. Darling, Dean Pettey, and Kenny Spencer ran fourth through sixth for much of the race, and were soon joined by Astle, who powered his way back to the front of the pack via the outside lane. Astle took third on lap 36 but could do little with the lead duo, which crossed the line nearly a straightaway ahead of him.

“We missed the tire stagger big time when we set up this car,” Annarummo remarked after notching his 38th Pro Stock win. “We changed the entire set up from last Sunday and were only going to come to practice today. But we got a little better as the day went on, and when you have a shot at the pole, you have to take it.” “With about 8 laps to go, I tried to race him but the car got tight,” the younger Annarummo noted after finishing second. “We sacrificed by running old tires in the heat and putting on four new ones for the feature and it worked out well for us.”

Astle finished third, ahead of Darling, and Tom Scully, Jr., who bounced back from an Opening Day crash to claim fifth. Positions six through ten went to Dean Pettey, Kenny Spencer, Rob Murphy, John Dabrowski, and Steve O’Brien. Due to an ongoing post-race technical inspection, the official results were still pending at press time.

In the second tier Late Model division, two-time Seekonk champion Kevin Casper of Somerset, MA nailed down his first win in the class, holding off defending titleholder Gerry DeGasparre, Jr. on a lap 16 restart to claim the 25-circuit feature. Kyle Casper led the first 15 laps from the pole as Barry Shaw, Jr. and DeGasparre worked their way into the top three, avoiding several spins and crashed along the way. As DeGasparre looked for a way under Kyle, Kevin drove to the front via the outside lane to take over the top spot. While coming off turn four with 10 laps to go, Kyle and Shaw crashed while battling for position, setting up a hard, chain-reaction crash that damaged the cars of Robin Berghman, Kevin Folan, and rookie Matt Breault.

Casper outgunned DeGasparre on the restart and held off his advances over the final laps to score his 25th career victory at the speedway, and first in nearly three years. DeGasparre finished second, ahead of Jonathan Dickerman, who bounced back from an early race spin to notch third. Bill Bernard achieved a career-best fourth, ahead of Shaw, Randy Clark, Bob Hussey, Mark Hudson, Dick Benoit, and Jeramee Lillie.

Rochester, MA’s Adam Murphy overcame afternoon motor problems to checker the 20-lap Sport Truck event. Murphy led the first 8 circuits before being passed by Hugh Bowser, who went three-wide with Murphy and Andy Jeffery for the lead. Murphy retook the top spot on the 11th go-around and crossed the stripe 0.781 seconds ahead of Mike Cavallaro, who finished in the runner-up spot for the second straight week. Bowser and Jeffery were third and fourth, followed by David Haywood, rookies Zach Tucan and Teddy Berube, previous race winner John Paiva, Brian Vincent, and Steve Dumas.

After missing the Opening Day event with a broken axle, Taunton, MA’s Mike Lema led all 20 laps of the Street Stock main to nail down his second career win. Six cautions slowed the event, which saw Scott Bruneau and Ryan Lineham duel with Lema and each other for the top spots throughout. Billy Brady snatched second from Lineham on the last lap, while Rey Lovelace and Elmer Wing III posted fourth and fifth. Positions six through ten went to Steve Axon, Bruneau, John Hanafin, Sparky Arsenault, and Paul Lallier.

Saturday night racing resumes at the Bay State facility on May 19 at 6 PM with a special Armed Forces Celebration Day. Free admission will be offered to all those with a valid military identification card and a $5 discount will be offered to all those with a valid military dependent identification card. The Northeastern Midget Association will be on hand for their first of four appearances this season, along with the weekly Pro Stock, Late Model, Sport Truck, and Street Stock classes. The event will also be one of five National Midget Driver of the Year promotional nights that are held at various tracks across the country. The award is calculated using a unique point system and is based on factors including car count, purse, and event prestige.

General admission tickets for 2007 are $12 for adults and $4 for Juniors 13 to 15 years of age. All children 12 and under are admitted free. Pit admission is $20 for ARC Pit Membership Card holders and $30 for non-card holders. Senior citizen discounts are also available on general admission tickets for all Saturday night races. All guests 55 years of age and older will receive a $2 discount. Guests must present photo identification for proof of eligibility if requested. For more information, please visit online at or contact the track office directly at (508)-336-9959.

Pro Stock Feature (40 laps)
1. #10-Vinnie Annarummo, Swansea, MA
2. #11-Todd Annarummo, Swansea, MA
3. #30-Fred Astle, Jr., Westport, MA
4. #52-David Darling, Rehoboth, MA
5. #2-Tom Scully, Jr., Cranston, RI
6. #57-Dean Pettey, Assonet, MA
7. #03-Kenny Spencer, Taunton, MA
8. #80-Rob Murphy, Rochester, MA
9. #00-John Dabrowski, West Bridgewater, MA
10. #95-Steve O’Brien, Scituate, MA

Late Model Feature (25 laps)
1. #88-Kevin Casper, Somerset, MA
2. #71-Gerry DeGasparre, Jr., Pawtucket, RI
3. #13-Jon Dickerman, Weymouth, MA
4. #47-Bill Bernard, Holliston, MA
5. #85-Barry Shaw, Jr., Holbrook, MA
6. #93-Randy Clark, East Harwich, MA
7. #80-Bob Hussey, Wellfleet, MA
8. #02-Mark Hudson, Norton, MA
9. #95-Dick Benoit, Middleboro, MA
10. #3-Jeramee Lillie, West Warwick, RI

Sport Truck Feature (20 laps)
1. #81-Adam Murphy, Rochester, MA
2. #80-Mike Cavallaro, Seekonk, MA
3. #22-Hugh Bowser, Taunton, MA
4. #2-Andy Jeffery, Middleboro, MA
5. #24-David Haywood, Tiverton, RI
6. #3-Zach Tucan, Taunton, MA
7. #91-Teddy Berube, Somerset, MA
8. #21-John Paiva, Fall River, MA
9. #10-Brian Vincent, West Warwick, RI
10. #04-Steve Dumas, Quincy, MA

Street Stock Feature (20 laps)
1. #39-Mike Lema, Taunton, MA
2. #48-Billy Brady, Marstons Mills, MA
3. #19-Ryan Lineham, Coventry, RI
4. #14-Rey Lovelace, North Providence, RI
5. #29-Elmer Wing III, Lakeville, MA
6. #04-Steve Axon, Attleboro, MA
7. #74-Scott Bruneau, Tiverton, RI
8. #76-John Hanafin, Quincy, MA
9. #96-Sparky Arsenault, Attleboro, MA
10. #77-Paul Lallier, Pawtucket, RI

Sources: Todd Baptista/Seekonk Speedway PR

May 2007
« Feb   Jul »