Archive for January 20th, 2008

A Commitment To The Modifieds

Waterford Speedbowl’s commitment to the Modified is unsurpassed. The’Bowl has been crowning Modified champions for 57 seasons – from Hall of Famer Dave Humphrey in 1953 to Rob Janovic Jr. in 2007.

The quest to join that list begins anew in the SK-150, the showcase of the 11h annual Modified Nationals April 12-13. The SKs will share the spotlight with nine other divisions in the two-day Nationals. One of the first extra-money, extra-distance events for the divisions, the “150” remains one of the SK races anywhere.

Continue reading ‘A Commitment To The Modifieds’

Seekonk Speedway’s ’07 Stars Shine At Annual Awards Banquet

Seekonk, MA — Hundreds of racers, crew members, officials, fans, and family members turned out to honor the stars of Seekonk Speedway’s 62nd consecutive season at the Venus de Milo Restaurant in Swansea, MA on Saturday, January 19. Over a hundred trophies, plaques, and jackets were handed out to the best and the brightest of 2007, including Rehoboth, MA’s David Darling, who earned top honors in the 1/3-mile Bay State oval’s top tier Pro Stock division for the second consecutive season. The 28 year-old and his Johnson Landscaping-Almeida Farms #52 team tied a track record with seven feature victories during the season and earned the highest winning percentage for a season in Seekonk Pro Stock history with 41.2%. They also finished in the top 10 in all 17 races and placed in the top five 14 times.

Pawtucket, RI’s Gerry DeGasparre, Jr., 38, was equally dominant in the Late Model division, posting a career high five wins and 15 top-fives in 18 starts en route to his second straight and third career title. The championship-winning Custom Auto Body-Spumoni’s Restaurant #71 team finished in the top 10 in all 18 races. Sport Truck ace Mike Cavallaro of Seekonk, MA claimed five checkered flags and finished in the top five in 18 of 19 races to successfully defend his ’06 title in the popular pickup class.

Continue reading ‘Seekonk Speedway’s ’07 Stars Shine At Annual Awards Banquet’

January 2008
« Dec   Feb »