Archive for April 12th, 2008

Coby Sets Fast Time for Bud Mod Nats

Waterford, CT — With a lap of 14.105, Doug Coby of Milford set fast time and established a new qualifying record for Sunday’s Budweiser Modified Nationals at the Waterford Speedbowl. Kenny Horton (14.124), Matt Hirschman (14.124), Dennis Gada (14.224), and Jeff Pearl (14.295) completed the top-5. A redraw tomorrow will determine the top-10 starting positions.

Feature winners were Mark Bakaj (Legends), Andy Lindeman (American Race Trucks), and, Norm Wrenn (Pro-4 Modifieds).

Continue reading ‘Coby Sets Fast Time for Bud Mod Nats’

ISMA Prepares for 35th Season Opener at Waterford

Oswego, NY — In 1974 supermodified legends Jim Shampine and Nolan Swift, along with businessman Tom Heveron, laid the foundation for the International SuperModified Association (ISMA). In 1976, with the fundamentals of the club in place, a point fund system for the traveling group was begun as was its history. As the 35th season begins, the founding fathers can look down with pride at what has been accomplished throughout the years. The veterans and rookies competing in 2008 carry the ideals instituted and nurtured into the fourth decade of ISMA racing as new challenges face them on the horizon.

The ISMA May 24th opener takes place at Waterford Speedbowl for the third year in a row. Last year, after two years of really bad luck at the inaugural event, Chris Perley began his record-breaking season with win number one to be followed by ten more feature victories down the line. With a total of 22 cumulative wins over the 2006 and 2007 ISMA seasons, Perley and the Vic Miller team established themselves as standard bearers for the division. Their dominance has been unprecedented in winged supermodified racing.

Continue reading ‘ISMA Prepares for 35th Season Opener at Waterford’

Coby Fastest In SK-150 Qualifying

Waterford, CT — Doug Coby set a new event record Saturday turning a 14.105 seconds lap in qualifying for tomorrow’s SK-150 at the 12th annual Budweiser Modified Nationals.

Qualifying 14th in line, Coby bested Kenny Horton and Matt Hirschman, the latter two posting identical 14.124 seconds laps. The top 20 times move into the $20,000 Modified Nationals.

Continue reading ‘Coby Fastest In SK-150 Qualifying’

April 2008
« Mar   May »