Archive for May 24th, 2008

Perley Takes ISMA Supermodified Race at Waterford

Waterford, CT — Chris Perley, AKA “The Rowley Rocket” of Rowley, MA. put on a stellar performance in winning the 50-lap International SuperModified Association event at the Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday evening, and in doing so recorded the fastest lap-ever (over 108 mph), in the 57-year history of the facility. Former Speedbowl SK champion Rob Summers set the early pace before being overtaken by Jeff Holbrook on lap twenty-one. Perley rocketed by Holbrook six circuits later, quickly distancing himself from the field. The race was red-flagged on lap thirty-six when Mike Lichty exploded a motor and slammed the wall, taking the cars of Jamie Timmons, Scott Martell and Mike Ordway with him. On the restart, Perley resumed his commanding lead, finishing several lengths ahead of Holbrook and Summers. Following was Ray Graham Jr., Bobby Bond and Dave McKnight Jr. It was the second-consecutive Speedbowl victory for Perley who won the 2007 event.

Other feature winners were Jeff Pearl (SK Modified), Ron Yuhas Jr. (Late Model), Mark Cooper (Sportsman), and Ben Bargnesi (Mini Stock).

Continue reading ‘Perley Takes ISMA Supermodified Race at Waterford’

Warrior Schroeder Wins Saturday Thunder Road Feature, Doubleheader Sunday

Stock car driver Fred Schroeder won a special two-segment feature race for the Power Shift Online Junkyard Warrior division at Barre, VT’s Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl on Saturday afternoon (May 24) to open the 46th Annual Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic weekend.  Schroeder, of Bristol, VT, took his first career win over South Burlington, VT’s Mike Gay and Waterbury, VT’s Neal Foster.

Schroeder drove his Tuck’s Repair/Ladies Workout Express #12 Dodge Spirit to finishes of fourth and third in the two 8-lap segments, for combined low total score of 7.  Gay’s Green Image Landscape/Power Shift #30 Mazda 323 posted finishes of third and sixth for a total of 9 points, while Foster drove his self-sponsored #19 Volkswagen Golf to finishes of ninth and first for a total of 10 points.  Travis Hull of Graniteville (11 points) and Jamie Davis of Wolcott (11 points) rounded out the unofficial top-five finishers.

Continue reading ‘Warrior Schroeder Wins Saturday Thunder Road Feature, Doubleheader Sunday’

Hossfeld Returns the ‘Mystic Missile’ to Victory Lane at Stafford

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour driver Earns Sixth Career Victory

Stafford, CT — Chuck Hossfeld piloted the No. 4 Mystic Missile Dodge to Victory Lane in the third NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event of the season Friday night in the TSI Harley-Davidson 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway.

In a race that was delayed nearly two and a half hours, Hossfeld won for the first time since the 2004 season. Hossfeld also won the race Donny Lia did in the No. 4 last year en route to the championship.

Continue reading ‘Hossfeld Returns the ‘Mystic Missile’ to Victory Lane at Stafford’

Ted Christopher, Chris Matthews, and Norm Sears Score TSI Harley-Davidson 150 Wins at Stafford Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — The 18th Annual TSI Harley-Davidson 150 program at Stafford Motor Speedway saw Ted Christopher victorious in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, while Chris Matthews and Norm Sears both took down their second consecutive wins in the 20-lap SK Light and 15-lap DARE Stock feature events.  Due to a rain storm in the middle of the program, the 30-lap Late Model and 20-lap Limited Late Model feature events were postponed to a later date.

The 40-lap SK Modified® feature took the green flag with Wade Mattesen setting the early pace.  Mattesen surrendered the lead to Brad Hietala on lap-6 with Ted Christopher also moving past Mattesen for second.  On lap-10 both Hietala and Christopher spun in turn 4 to bring the caution out and put Woody Pitkat out front.

Continue reading ‘Ted Christopher, Chris Matthews, and Norm Sears Score TSI Harley-Davidson 150 Wins at Stafford Speedway’