Archive for June 14th, 2008

N.H. Motorcyle Week Kicks Off With The 85th Annual Loudon Classic

The 85th annual Loudon Classic, the oldest motorcycle race in the country, will once again take to the road course at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday and Sunday, June 14 and 15, 2008.

Riders from all over the northeast will flock to the speedway to take on the challenging 1.6 mile road course.  The Loudon Classic boasts some of the most exciting racing in New England.  A “classic” trademark of New Hampshire Motor Speedway is the “Bowl”, considered one of the most famous turns in all of motorcycle road racing.

Continue reading ‘N.H. Motorcyle Week Kicks Off With The 85th Annual Loudon Classic’

Rain Forces Cancellation of Scout Night at Speedbowl

Waterford, CT — With only one event completed, persistent rain showers forced the cancellation of Scout Night at the Waterford Speedbowl Saturday evening.

Art Moran III notched the Legends Young Lions 15-lap event followed by Peter Portante and Joe Cipriano.

Continue reading ‘Rain Forces Cancellation of Scout Night at Speedbowl’

Annarummo Comes Back for Some Home Cooking at Seekonk

Lillie, Lineham, & Rose Pick Up First Wins of Season

Seekonk, MA — 30 True Value Modified Racing Series modifieds came to town for their first of four visits to the “Action Track of the East”, and it was six time champion Vinny Annarummo picking up his first modified win of the season. Second generation racer Chris Pasteryak and Tommy Cravenho brought the 26 car field down for the green. Pasteryak jumped out into the early lead, while Cravenho started to slide back a little, allowing Annarummo to move into second in the opening laps. The race would be slowed for the first time on lap 6, when Michael Douglas Jr, Rob Goodenough, and John McKennedy all got together in turn 3. McKennedy and Goodenough were able to continue, but Douglas’ night would be complete. Dave Bergman also retired at this time. After a false restart, Vinny Who used the outside line to work his way into the top spot. It would be short lived, as Pasteryak took back the lead on lap 10. The two continued to battle side by side until the yellow came out for the second time on lap 12 for Jimmy Dolan, who spun in turn 4.

Annarummo once again used the outside to regain the lead on lap 15, and was able to pace the field for several laps. Pasteryak fell into line, with Cravenho, Ed Dachenhausen, and Dwight Jarvis running in the top 5 as the field crossed the ¼ century mark. On lap 27, the third caution flew for the Mike Holdridge spinning into the infield grass on the front stretch, while Bobby Drown and Stephen Masse got together in turn 1. It seemed the outside lane was the one to be in, as Pasteryak regained the lead on lap 27. Tony Ricci overheated and stalled his #4 in turn 4, bringing out the 4th caution. Using the outside lane, Vinny brought his Francis Farm #12 back to the front on lap 30.Pasteryak continued to work the outside lane, but to no avail, as he wasn’t able to regain the lead. While they battled for the lead, 3 time TVMRS champion Kirk Alexander and Dave Pinkham were working their way toward the front from their 24th and 24th starting positions. By the 50 lap mark, the top ten were Annarummo, Pasteryak, Jarvis, Les Hinckley, Ed Dachenhausen, Dick Houlihan, Pinkham, Dale Evonsion, Alexander and Cravenho.
Continue reading ‘Annarummo Comes Back for Some Home Cooking at Seekonk’