Rain Washes Out NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Qualifying

Chuck Hossfeld Will Start on the Pole Saturday

Loudon, NH — Unfavorable weather conditions at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Thursday washed out time trials for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. Current points leader Chuck Hossfeld will now start on the pole for Saturday’s New England 100.

With the rainout lineup, the field for the New England 100 was set according to the NASCAR rule book. Hossfeld, who has finished no worse than fourth in each of the season’s first four races, will lead the field of 38 cars down the front stretch at the “Magic Mile” on Saturday. Hossfeld will be joined in the front row by Ted Christopher, whose nine wins at New Hampshire are a track record.

Rain delayed scheduled practice sessions Thursday afternoon, but the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour was able to get on the track for nearly half an hour. During that window, Ed Flemke Jr. registered the fastest time at 30.008 seconds (126.926 mph).

Green flag for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour New England 100 is set for Saturday at approximately 1 p.m. That race will be followed by the NASCAR Nationwide Series Camping World RV Sales 200. For ticket information, please visit New Hampshire’s official Web site (nhms.com).

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour – New England 100 Lineup
Race Saturday; Qualifying cancelled by rain. Lineup set by 2008 owner points, except where noted
At New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Loudon, N.H.
Lap length: 1.058 miles
(Car number in parentheses)

1. (4) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville N.Y., Dodge
2. (36) Ted Christopher, Plainville Conn., Chevrolet
3. (2) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield Conn., Ford
4. (16) Mike Stefanik, Coventry R.I., Pontiac
5. (28) James Civali, Meriden Conn., Chevrolet
6. (46) Eric Beers, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet
7. (93) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley Pa., Chevrolet
8. (59) Matt Hirschman, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet
9. (10) Ed Flemke, Jr., Southington Conn., Chevrolet
10. (12) Ken Heagy, Calverton N.Y., Ford
11. (58) Kevin Goodale, Riverhead N.Y., Chevrolet
12. (3) Ryan Preece, Kensington Conn., Chevrolet
13. (09) Bobby Grigas, III, Marshfield Mass., Chevrolet
14. (21) Richard Savary, Canton Mass., Chevrolet
15. (79) Ronnie Silk, Norwalk Conn., Pontiac
16. (32) Tom Abele, Jr., Norwich Conn., Chevrolet
17. (8) Glenn Tyler, Hampton Bays N.Y., Chevrolet
18. (05) Joe Hartmann, Calverton N.Y., Chevrolet
19. (11) Anthony Sesely, Matawan N.J., Dodge
20. (33) Wade Cole, Riverton Conn., Chevrolet
21. (19) Jimmy Blewett, Howell N.J., Chevrolet*
22. (98) Bobby Santos, Franklin Mass., Chevrolet**
23. (77) Rick Fuller, Auburn Mass.#
24. (99) Jamie Tomaino, Howell N.J., Chevrolet#
25. (17) Glen Reen, Wilbraham Mass., Chevrolet##
26. (06) Billy Pauch, Jr., Frenchtown N.J., Dodge##
27. (90) Renee Dupuis, Glastonbury Conn., Ford##
28. (0) Danny Sammons, Hamilton N.J., Chevrolet##
29. (14) Reggie Ruggiero, Rocky Hill Conn., Ford##
30. (9) Jake Marosz, Middletown Conn., Chevrolet##
31. (00) Dale Quarterly, Westfield Mass., Chevrolet##
32. (26) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma N.Y., Chevrolet##
33. (53) Sean Patterson, Wading River N.Y., Pontiac##
34. (1) Rob Summers, Vernon Conn., Chevrolet##
35. (70) Andy Seuss, Hampstead N.H. ##
36. (23) Brian Loftin, Lexington N.C., Chevrolet+
37. (38) L.W. Miller, Dushore Pa., Pontiac+
38. (7) Jeff Fuller, Auburn Mass., Chevrolet+

* Owner win in 2007; **Driver win in 2007; # Past champions; ## Owner attempts; +Qualifying draw

Sources: Jason Cunningham/NASCAR PR