Archive for July 3rd, 2008

Thompson Live Updates

6:53 – The Late Models are doing some hotlaps.

6:51 – The Late Models are back behind the pace car again and the field is now beginning pace laps.  Looks like after that brief rain delay, we’re able to get this one back underway. The starting grid has Mark Jenison in the #22 with Conrad Cote in the #19 alongside.

6:45 PM – Just as Oliveira was celebrating victory lane, rain showers hit the speedway and subsequent track drying efforts have been underway for the past 15 minutes.

6:29PM – Leo Oliveira won his 3rd career Thompson Modified race in tonight’s 25 lap feature. R.J. Marcotte, Kurt Vigeant and Brian Tagg rounded out the top-4 finishers.

The Limited Sportsman feature went to Ernie Larose, picking up his first win of the season in the #97 car.

5:43PM – Tim Taylor won his first race of the season.

5:26PM – The first feature event will roll off with the Mini Stocks.

Midgets Headline July 3 Thompson Action

The NEMA Midgets join the racing card along with the 6 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions at Thompson Speedway tonight. The NEMA Midgets are offset, lightweight and winged open wheel race cars. Among the fastest to compete at the “Big T”, the cars achieve 140 MPH entering the corners at the Thompson Speedway. A heat race lap by Joey Payne, Jr. – 18.64/120.708 MPH around the fast 5/8 mile oval.

Tonight’s race marks the first event since Shane Hammond’s tragic loss at the Icebreaker in April. It is also the start of a busy grind for the competitors as they will be racing several midweek shows. This Tuesday at Stafford and a week from Wednesday at Seekonk Speedway.

There is a low car count tonight, but enough to put on a good show for the traditional Independence Day celebration. The two NEMA heats were split by Joey Payne, Jr. and.

We’ll be updating you as time permits.

Past Modified Champion Tomaino to be Honored at Spencer Speedway

NASCAR to Recognize Tomaino on July 12

Daytona Beach, FL — As part of a season-long celebration of 60 years of Modified champions, 1990 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour titlist Jamie Tomaino will be honored at the Mason Farms 100 on July 12 at Spencer Speedway in Williamson, N.Y.

Tomaino, who has run more races than any driver in the history of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, was a model of consistency during his championship season of 1990. Of the 23 races on the schedule, Tomaino finished in the top 10 a remarkable 18 times. He had 10 top-fives, and won at Monadnock Speedway.
Continue reading ‘Past Modified Champion Tomaino to be Honored at Spencer Speedway’

Freedom Comes With a Cost

This weekend we celebrate the declaration of our independence. The Freedom we enjoy comes with a cost and a responsibility. Have we taken the time and remembered those who made the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom? Have we stopped and thought about what our responsibility is in maintaining the freedom we enjoy? Greetings in the name of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Freedom Isn’t Free is the title of this poem written by Cadet Major Kelly Strong USAF, JROTC to recall the memory of those who paid the ultimate sacrifice in the giving of their lives. Their willingness to give secures to this day our freedom. Freedom to do what we enjoy; racing.
Continue reading ‘Freedom Comes With a Cost’

Palmer, Brouwer Among Wild N’ Wacky Winners

Waterford, CT — Defending champion Jason Palmer notched the 20-lap Legends feature on Wild N’ Wacky Wednesday.

Other feature winners were Rob Corey (Super-X Car), John Bowes (X-Car), and Richard “Bubby” Brouwer (X-Modified).
Continue reading ‘Palmer, Brouwer Among Wild N’ Wacky Winners’