Speedbowl Ready For Wings & Wheels

Waterford, CT — Geography – length, width, surface – makes Waterford Speedbowl an ideal spot for Saturday night’s Racing Against Cancer Wings & Wheels presented by Foxwoods and Kool 101.

Three of the four fastest short track divisions in the Northeast, led by the International Super Modified Racing Association, are due. The Supers will be joined by the Northeastern Midget Association, the True Value Modified Series and the Speedbowl’s SK-Modifieds.

A portion of every ticket will go to Racing Against Cancer. The gates open at 3:30 PM and racing begins at 5.

The True Values will go 100 laps, the Supers 50, the SKs 35 and the Midgets 25. All will qualify via heats and consis (starting at 5 pm) that guarantees some hectic action.

There are no strangers in the mix.  Each division has established history at the Speedbowl. They come wanting to make more history.  ISMA President Howie Lane insists the Speedbowl’s first 11-seconds lap is a possibility Saturday.

Back in May, ISMA’s Chris Perley turned a 12.489 seconds lap (107-mph plus) en route to victory.  It was, just a few “ticks” better than Randy Cabral’s 12.848 (105-plus) in the Bertrand Midget set a few weeks before. Those marks are now targets for two divisions that pay special attention to lap times.

Dwight Jarvis’ 14.075 lap and many SK times in the 14.150 range this summer are testimony that the True Value and SK Modifieds are surpassing the century mark as well.

Bowl fans have their favorites in the touring divisions starting with ISMA’s Rob Summers, the one-time SK champion who’ll be coming with a True Value car as well. Summers would like nothing better than adding a ISMA checkered to his Speedbowl resume.

Ted Christopher will be returning in the Czarnecki #20. TC would like to add to a Speedbowl resume that includes, in addition to 33 SK wins, successes in the NASCAR Modifieds, NEMA Midgets and Pro4 Modifieds.

True Value regulars Chris Pasteryak, Ed Dachenhausen and Mike Holdridge are all former Speedbowl regulars. NEMA’s Cabral, Nokie Fornoro, Erica and Bobby Santos III and Joey Payne all have strong followings at the Bowl as well.

They’ll all be part of a host of short track giants that includes ISMA’s Perley, Jeff Holbrook, Russ Wood, Dave McKnight, Mike Ordway Jr. and Mike Lichty, NEMA’s Jeff Horn, Greg Stoehr, Lou Cicconi and TVMS David Pinkham, Les Hinckley, Kirk Alexander and Jean-Paul Cyr.

The Speedbowl’s SK fraternity – Dennis Gada, Keith Rocco, Rob Janovic Jr., Jeffrey Paul, Ron Yuhas Jr., Doug Coby – will be striving to excel as well.

Sources: David Dykes/Waterford Speedbowl PR

August 2008
« Jul   Sep »