Archive for September 5th, 2008

Stafford 09/05 Updates

Provost Collects First DARE Stock Win of Season

Duane Provost bested Norm Sears and Scott Roy to win his first feature of 2008.  He started on the pole and led green-to-checkered to take down the win.

Rocco Gains Points Lead with SK Mod Win

SK Modified Results (40 laps)

  1. Keith Rocco
  2. Donny Travaglin
  3. Doug Coby
  4. Todd Owen
  5. Wade Mattesen
    Continue reading ‘Stafford 09/05 Updates’

Travis Kittleson Makes White Mountain PASS North Plans

Floridian Will Drive for Maine’s Cushman Competition Team

Concord, NC — North and South will come together in the quest to win in Super Late Model racing as Floridian Travis Kittleson joins up with the #29 Cushman Competition team out of Maine for the September 13th PASS North event at White Mountain Motorsports Park (NH).

Both driver and team have separately won more than their share of races and championships in recent years during Florida Speedweeks.  They recently joined forces to compete in the Labor Day Weekend Peterbilt 250 at New Brunswick’s Speedway 660 together.  Kittleson won his heat race and led laps early, but flat tires kept him to a finish of 11th.
Continue reading ‘Travis Kittleson Makes White Mountain PASS North Plans’

Rocco, Posocco, Matthews, Ferrigno, Provost Score Wins at Stafford

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Motor Speedway kicked off its final month of NASCAR Racing for the 2008 season with a Whelen All-American Series feature event that saw Keith Rocco win the 40-lap SK Modified® feature, Ryan Posocco win the 30-lap Late Model feature, Chris Matthews win the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Joey Ferrigno win the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Duane Provost win the 15-lap DARE Stock feature.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Keith Rocco survived a several late caution periods to post his second feature win of the 2008 season and retake the SK Modified® points lead from Ted Christopher with 2 races remaining. The lead changed hands several times in the early laps as Wade Mattesen led lap one and Corey Hutchings led the next two laps before Woody Pitkat moved to the lead on lap-4. Pitkat slowly began to pull away from the field, building nearly a full straightaway lead before a caution with 18 laps complete erased that margin. Pitkat held the lead until a restart on lap-32 when Frank Ruocco moved to the front. Keith Rocco moved past Frank Ruocco on lap-33 to take the race lead. Several more caution periods followed, but Rocco was able to hold off Donny Travaglin and Doug Coby to take the win. Todd Owen finished fourth and Wade Mattesen rounded out the top-5.

Continue reading ‘Rocco, Posocco, Matthews, Ferrigno, Provost Score Wins at Stafford’

Ryan Newman To Drive Midget At Lee USA

Ryan Newman, the 2008 Daytona 500 winner, has signed on to drive the Bertrand Motorsports #39 Drinan in Northeastern Midget Association action at Lee USA Speedway, Friday night, Sept. 12.


The popular Newman adds luster to what will be the 900th feature in NEMA’s 57-year history. He’ll be part of a three-car Bertrand effort that also includes current point leader Randy Cabral and 2007 rookie of the year Jeremy Frankoski.

Continue reading ‘Ryan Newman To Drive Midget At Lee USA’

NASCAR Legend Bobby Allison to be Honored at Stafford Speedway’s CARQUEST Fall Final Weekend

Stafford Springs, CT — As part of a season-long celebration of 60 years of Modified champions, NASCAR legend Bobby Allison will be honored prior to the running of the CARQUEST Fall Final 150 on  September 28th at Stafford Motor Speedway.  Allison made his mark in racing driving on the Sprint Cup Series, but he began his racing career at the Modified level and won several championships there before moving up to Sprint Cup Series competition.

Allison won the 1962 and 1963 Modified Special Division championships and was the National Modified champion in 1964.  From there, he moved into what was then known as Grand National Racing.  Allison scored his first career victory at Oxford Plains Speedway on July 12, 1966.  Allison would go on to win a grand total of  84 Sprint Cup Series races, tying him with Darrell Waltrip for third place on the all-time Sprint Cup Series Winners list.

Continue reading ‘NASCAR Legend Bobby Allison to be Honored at Stafford Speedway’s CARQUEST Fall Final Weekend’

September 2008
« Aug   Oct »