Archive for September 20th, 2008

Myers Wins One For The South

Preece Highest NWMT Finisher In The Race

Martinsville, VA — The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour celebrated its 500th race in its tradition-rich history, but it was Burt Myers that stole the show and drove his way to Victory Lane in the Made In America Whelen 300.

Myers became the first NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver to win the annual combination race with their northern-based counterparts at Martinsville Speedway.

He also became the first Southern driver to win a Modified tour race in a NASCAR-sanctioned race at Martinsville since Johnny Bryant in 1985.
Continue reading ‘Myers Wins One For The South’

Seekonk 09/20/2008

Click Here for our coverage

Qualifying: Martinsville Pole For Preece

Martinsville, VA — Ryan Preece earned an historic Coors Light Pole Award Saturday afternoon at Martinsville Speedway.

It was Preece’s second career pole award and comes as the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour gets set to run the 500th race in its history. The event is a combination race with the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour. George Brunnhoelzl III, who was second fastest overall, was also awarded a Coors Light Pole Award as the fastest NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver.
Continue reading ‘Qualifying: Martinsville Pole For Preece’

Practice: Brown On Record Pace

Martinsville, VA — Tim Brown led practice for the Made In America Whelen 300 Saturday afternoon at Martinsville Speedway with a time faster than the qualifying record.

Brown’s top speed of 18.737 seconds on the .526-mile oval is 101.062 mph. The qualifying record for Modifieds at Martinsville was set by Greg Sacks in 1986 at 18.746 (101.014).

Continue reading ‘Practice: Brown On Record Pace’

Pitkat, Rzeszutek, Bakaj, Durand, LaPorta Score Sept. 19th Final Friday Night Shoot-Out Feature Wins at Stafford; Posocco Wraps Up Late Model Track Championship

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Motor Speedway closed out its Friday night racing season with a wild night of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing action. Woody Pitkat picked up his fourth win of the 2008 season in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature, Joe Rzeszutek picked up his second win of 2008 in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Mark Bakaj scored win number 4 of 2008 in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Andrew Durand scored his third win of 2008 in the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Todd LaPorta was a first time career winner in the 15-lap DARE Stock season. Ryan Posocco clinched his fourth Late Model track championship with a third place finish with four more championships to be decided next weekend at the 36th Annual CARQUEST Fall Final Weekend.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Woody Pitkat drove to his fourth feature victory of the 2008 season. Corey Hutchings took the early race lead and held the lead until lap-6 when Chris Jones moved to the front. Pitkat moved to second on lap-8 and he took the lead from Jones on a lap-11 restart. Over a long green flag stretch, Pitkat was steadily stretching his advantage over the rest of the field. Several late cautions kept the field tight, with Pitkat holding off Keith Rocco to the checkered flag. Zach Sylvester finished third, Ted Christopher finished fourth, and Jones rounded out the top-5. Heading into next weekend’s CARQUEST Fall Final Weekend, Keith Rocco holds a 14-point lead over Ted Christopher.
Continue reading ‘Pitkat, Rzeszutek, Bakaj, Durand, LaPorta Score Sept. 19th Final Friday Night Shoot-Out Feature Wins at Stafford; Posocco Wraps Up Late Model Track Championship’

September 2008
« Aug   Oct »