Archive for May 10th, 2009

Scott Payea Wins Spring Green 100

Scott Payea of Milton, VT steals the Furniture World of Vermont Spring Green 100 victory after a race long battle between Randy Potter of Groveton, NH and Brad Leighton of Center Harbor, NH. Potter and Leighton fought for the first 90 laps, swapping the lead back and forth. Potter appeared to gain the upper hand until Payea took the lead with less than ten laps remaining. Payea held off Potter during the final shootout setup by a caution with three to go.

Payea becomes the third different winner in the first three races of the 2009 ACT Tour season. He also becomes the third driver to stamp his ticket to the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on September 19th.

Continue reading ‘Scott Payea Wins Spring Green 100’

Pro Four Modifieds Rained Out at Monadnock

Due to heavy rains in the area and a forecast calling for much of the same, officials from both the Pro Four Modifieds of New England (PFMNE) and Monadnock Speedway were forced to postpone the race program originally scheduled for Saturday, May 9. The PFMNE will return to the Speedway next Saturday, May 16 to try and complete the race program along with the Monadnock Modifieds, Outlaw Pro Stocks, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, and the All Star Race Trucks.

No qualifying heats were completed for PFMNE, however, heat lineups have been determined for the 11 cars signed into the paddock area. Any teams wishing to compete in the event are welcomed, as officials have announced that any car not present on May 9 will be added at the tail end of the field.
Continue reading ‘Pro Four Modifieds Rained Out at Monadnock’

Doug Coby and Dennis Gada Land in Modified Victory Lane; Thomas, Cooper and Panaroni also Win

Waterford, CT — Doug Coby took the lead late and won the 100-lap True Value Modified Series race, while Dennis Gada took the win in a 35-lap SK Modified event dotted with several restart attempts.   Mark Panaroni grabbed a career first win in the Mini Stocks, Bruce Thomas Jr. returned to Late Model Victory Lane, and Mark Cooper earned his first Street Stock win of 2009.

The True Value Modified Racing Series 100-lap event got underway with Chris Pasteryak leading from his pole starting spot.  Ted Christopher, driving the Joe Brady owned #00, would cut a tire while running ninth on lap 13 and make contact with the turn three aarmco barrier, ending his night early.  During an extended green flag run, Pasteryak would slip away in the lead with Mike Holdridge and Mike Stefanik in tow.  Doug Coby was making steady progress from his 11th starting position, making his way into the top five.
Continue reading ‘Doug Coby and Dennis Gada Land in Modified Victory Lane; Thomas, Cooper and Panaroni also Win’

Coby Wins First True Value Modified Race At Waterford

Waterford, CT — Milford CT; modified driver Doug Coby,starting 11th in a field of 26 cars, made a daring crossover move to pass race leader Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon,CT; on lap 82, to go on and win the “Waterford 100” Saturday night. at the Waterford, CT Speedbowl. It was Coby’s first race with the True Value Modified Racing Series and also the first win for the Czarnecki Bros. race team, owners of the car. Coby became the seventh different winner at Waterford in seven different TVMRS races.

Pole sitter and defending champion Pasteryak took the lead at the drop of the green flag receiving constant pressure from Todd Owen, Somers, CT; Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT; Mike Stefanik, Coventry, CT; and Coby. Stefanik pursued the leader for 35 laps then Coby chased Pasteryak for 21 laps before the winning pass.
Continue reading ‘Coby Wins First True Value Modified Race At Waterford’

May 2009
« Apr   Jun »