Archive for May 25th, 2009

Tom Scully Jr visits Victory Lane in Pro Stock Action. Vanasse repeats while Martin and Lineham earn season firsts

Seekonk, MA — Ken Spencer and Rob Murphy brought the field down for the green with Spencer getting the early jump over Murphy. The Pub 76 Chevy set the pace for the first lap but was overtaken by lap two by the Wheelock NAPA Auto Groups Chevy of Tom Scully Jr that overtook and set the pace for the remainder of the event. While Scully led the race, the quest for second was heating up early. Rochester’s Rob Murphy was using the inside lane to get back toward the front. LM winner Ryan Vanasse followed through into third. Spencer had mechanical problems forcing the Pub 76 Chevy out of the event early.

Acushnet’s Mike Brightman was using the inside to his advantage and worked himself into the top six by the time the first caution came out on lap nine for the Somerset Federal Credit Union Chevy of Kyle Casper as he spun in turn three.

As the field crossed at the halfway point, Scully continued to set the pace. Murphy had his hands full as Vanasse continued to knock on the door, while Dave Darling was up to third, using the outside lane. Fred Astle had just moved into fourth with Vanasse rounding out the top five.

Continue reading ‘Tom Scully Jr visits Victory Lane in Pro Stock Action. Vanasse repeats while Martin and Lineham earn season firsts’

Masse Scores First Win In Crash Filled Thunder Road Race

Barre, VT — What a difference a year makes. Last May, the historic Thunder Road International Speedbowl, Barre, VT., was tough to conquer for Steven Masse. Sunday afternoon, mission accomplished.

The 19 year old racer from Bellingham, MA., in only his second year of competition with the True Value Modified Racing Series, passed race leader Chris Pasteryak on lap 87, and went on to win the 100 lap Memorial Day Classic at the famed Vermont speedway before a huge holiday weekend crowd. Not only was it Masse’s first win, the victory moved him into first place in the point standings.
Continue reading ‘Masse Scores First Win In Crash Filled Thunder Road Race’

Memorable Memorial Day Monday at Lime Rock Park

Hand Prevails in KONI GS Battle with Lally at Lime Rock Park; Gleason Wins Third at Connecticut Circuit, Remains Series’ Oldest Winner

Memorial Day itself was the third of three beautiful race days at Lime Rock Park for the Road Racing Classic. The morning saw qualifying for the second of the two F2000 Championship races, plus a warm-up session for the Historic Grand Prix F1 cars and a final practice session for the Grand-Am KONI Challenge Grand Sport division.

The race action went green with the F2000 Championship series race, an exciting 30-minute mad dash won by Remy Audette, with Chris Miller second and Matthew Inge third. The Masters Division winner was John Dole, who finished fifth overall, behind Fabio Orsolon.
Continue reading ‘Memorable Memorial Day Monday at Lime Rock Park’

Change in May 23 Street Stock division finish order

Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl has announced a change to the finishing order of May 23’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series 20-lap Street Stock race. Following post-race technical inspection the original first and second place finishers, Josh Galvin and Jim Procaccini, were disqualified from the event moving New Haven’s Al Stone III to the event win. Stone edged Brandon Plemons in a tight battle on the racetrack, one which proved to be the winning move after the change in finish order. Continue reading ‘Change in May 23 Street Stock division finish order’

May 2009
« Apr   Jun »