Archive for June 20th, 2009

Brent Dragon Wins Series ACT Castrol Riverside 100

Milton, Vermont’s Brent Dragon dominates the Series ACT Castrol Riverside 100 stock car race at Riverside Speedway in St-Croix, QC. Dragon made the trek up north after finding out the Nutmeg State make-up scheduled at Waterford Speedbowl was cancelled. After taking the initial green in the 12th position, Dragon worked his way through the field to take the lead from Daniel Descoste on lap 23. Donald Theetge and Sylvain Lacombe both pressured Dragon late in the race but to no avail.

Patrick Hamel came from the ninth starting position to finish in the runner-up position followed by Martin Lacombe, Sylvain Lacombe and Eric St-Gelais rounding out the top five. Trampas Demers finished sixth and was chased to the line by Jean-François Déry, Patrick Laperle, Donald Theetge and Pier-Luc Ouellette rounding out the top ten.
Continue reading ‘Brent Dragon Wins Series ACT Castrol Riverside 100’

Scott Cestodio, Kyle DeSouza, Dave Hutchins Jr, and Steve Heath win on Fast Friday Opener; Will Wall NEMA Lites winner

Seekonk, MA — After two weeks of rain, Seekonk Speedway was finally able to get their Fast Friday series opener in the books. The NEMA Lites were in town for their season opener as well. The Seekonk Youth Racing Association 600 division was the first feature out.

As the field came across the stripe for the green, the field spread out three wide, and rookie Willie Sanchez moved to the bottom and took over the lead. A couple of early spins slowed up the action in the first couple of laps. Jason Enos II was second, Bob Perry, Kaitlyn Donovan and Branden Dion were the top five. Once back underway, Sanchez continued to set the pace with Enos second. Carl Medeiros Jr was working his way through the field, and was running second when contact between he and Enos sent the black 3 around with only 6 laps remaining. Medeiros was able to continue on.
Continue reading ‘Scott Cestodio, Kyle DeSouza, Dave Hutchins Jr, and Steve Heath win on Fast Friday Opener; Will Wall NEMA Lites winner’

Monadnock Waived Off, Twin State Up Next

N. Easton, MA — With days of heavy rain soaking southern New Hampshire, and a forecast for much of the same later on Saturday evening, Monadnock Speedway and Pro Four Modifieds of New England (PFMNE) officials were forced to cancel the race program slated for June 20.  PFMNE officials have announced that the event will not be rescheduled.

The four-cylinder modifieds will now turn their attention to the historic Twin State Speedway, situated in the backwoods of Claremont, NH, for a 25-lap main this Friday, June 26.  This will be the first of two scheduled stops at the 1/3-mile oval in 2009.
Continue reading ‘Monadnock Waived Off, Twin State Up Next’

William Wall Wins NEMA Lites Season Opener at Seekonk Speedway

Todd Bertrand, 3rd; Winner William Wall; & Jake Stergois, 2nd.
Continue reading ‘William Wall Wins NEMA Lites Season Opener at Seekonk Speedway’

PASS North at Unity Postponed

The PASS event at Unity Raceway on Sunday has been cancelled due to extremely wet grounds and predicted inclement weather for Sunday.  There are talks between PASS and Unity Raceway regarding a make up date and it will be announced as soon as possible.

Speedbowl Cancels June 20 program

Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl has cancelled June 20’s scheduled ACT Tour Nutmeg State 100 and NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing program due to inclement weather and heavy rains set to arrive for the evening.

The ACT Tour was on hand June 13 when rain halted racing 28 laps into their 100-lap event, originally postponing the event until June 20.   The remaining 72-laps of the event is now scheduled to resume on Saturday, August 8.

Norwich Night festivities planned for June 20 will take place on Saturday, June 27.  The Speedbowl honors the City of Norwich’s 350th birthday with special $3.50 admission on June 27 for any resident showing proof of residency in the form of a current driver’s license or current city tax or utility bill.
Continue reading ‘Speedbowl Cancels June 20 program’

Whip City Speedway Rained Out

Due to rain all racing events are canceled for today.

Pro 4 Modified Race at Monadnock Speedway Cancelled

Tomorrow’s race has been cancelled and will not be made up.

The next race is Friday, June 26, at Twin State Speedway at 7pm.

Wall, Cestodio, DeSouza, Hutchins & Heath Win Seekonk Fast Friday Season Opener

Pure Stocks





1 Scott Cestodio 60 Running
2 Randy Moretti 55 Running
3 Nicholas Uhrig 52 Running
4 Lou Robinson 49 Running
5 Bill Chouinard 46 Running
6 Amy Arsenault 43 Running
7 Bob Hinckley 40 Running
8 Bobby Greggerson 37 Running
9 Dirk Eykelhoff 34 Running
10 Jeremy Lambert 32 Running
11 Doug Benoit 30 Running
12 Melissa Jodat 28 Running
13 Carlos Silva 26 Running
14 Ed Flanagan Jr. 24 Running
15 Melissa Charette 22 Running
16 William Wallace 20 Running
17 Jamie Burch 18 Running
18 Vincent Pangelinan 16 Running

Continue reading ‘Wall, Cestodio, DeSouza, Hutchins & Heath Win Seekonk Fast Friday Season Opener’

Rocco, Moltz, DesRochers, Durand & Saunders Score June 19th Summer Blast-Off/CARQUEST Dealer Night Feature Victories at Stafford Motor Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Speedway provided fireworks on the track and in the air with the Summer Blast-Off / CARQUEST Dealer Night race program. Keith Rocco drove to his second consecutive victory of the 2009 season and his third overall win in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature, Dillon Moltz took his third win of the season in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Heather DesRochers wired the field in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature for her first career victory, Andrew Durand picked up his third victory of the 2009 season in the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Albert Saunders picked up his first career victory in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature a week after his twin brother won his first career DARE Stock feature.

The 40-lap SK Modified® feature took the green with Dave Salzarulo holding down the lead from the pole position. Todd Owen was all over the back of Salzarulo for the lead, but he couldn’t muster up enough momentum to make a pass. The duel between Salzarulo and Owen allowed Frank Ruocco to close in on the front two.

A caution with 14 laps complete slowed the action and set up a restart. Ruocco moved by both Owen and Salzarulo on the restart to take over the race lead. Keith Rocco moved from fifth to second behind Ruocco, dropping Owen to third and Salzarulo to fourth.
Continue reading ‘Rocco, Moltz, DesRochers, Durand & Saunders Score June 19th Summer Blast-Off/CARQUEST Dealer Night Feature Victories at Stafford Motor Speedway’