Archive for July 12th, 2009

Maine Modified Drivers Lead Charge to Oxford Plains

Canaan, NH —  With close to 70 drivers rostered for the 2009 True Value Modified Racing Series season, only three competitors hail from the State of Maine. Veteran and 3-time series winner David Pinkham,Buxton, two time series winner Tony Ricci,Westbrook, and Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year contender Jacob Dore, Sanford.

All three Maine based race teams are expected entries, Saturday night, July 18, for the “Maine-Ly Action Sports Night 100” for the open-wheel ground-pounding modifieds. The race will be the third appearance by the sixth year series as part of the annual TD Banknorth Oxford 250 weekend.
inkham is the defending champion of the event. He passed race leader Jean Paul Cyr with 15 laps remaining last year to go on and score the popular victory in front of his home state crowd. He will again drive for long time car owner Tom Greeley, of Auburn, ME.

Continue reading ‘Maine Modified Drivers Lead Charge to Oxford Plains’

Brad Leighton Wins Summer Sizzler 200 at Kawartha Speedway

Brad Leighton of Center Harbor, NH captured his second ACT Tour victory of the 2009 season in the Summer Sizzler 200 at Kawartha Speedway in Peterborough, ON. Leighton started on the outside pole with a plus four handicap in ACT’s plus/minus system and led until Patrick Laperle took control on lap 27.

Laperle wouldn’t hold the lead for long as Randy Potter got by him on lap 56. Potter and Laperle then battled until a caution flag on lap 92 when Potter along with several other cars pitted for fresh tires and gas. Laperle would not be contested again until Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, Jr. caught him on lap 113.

Continue reading ‘Brad Leighton Wins Summer Sizzler 200 at Kawartha Speedway’

Record-breaking Win For Rudolph

Youngest winner in Whelen Modified Tour history

Williamson, NY — Erick Rudolph was just looking to finish a race. What he wound up with was a history-making victory. Rudolph’s first career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win Sunday in the Spencer Speedway 155 made him the youngest winner in tour history.

At 17 years, 6 months, 3 days, the Ransomville, N.Y., driver eclipsed the mark set by Ryan Preece last year. Preece was 17 years, 10 months, 25 days when he won at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway.

After failing to finish each of the first four races of the season, Rudolph led the final 48 laps Sunday and withstood a furious charge from Todd Szegedy on the final lap to claim the victory. On the last lap, Szegedy got by Chuck Hossfeld for second and had the nose of his car nearly up to Rudolph’s front tire as they crossed the finish line. The scheduled 125-lap event was extended to 131 by a green-white-checkered finish.

Continue reading ‘Record-breaking Win For Rudolph’

HEATS: Christopher, Szegedy win

Williamson, NY — Ted Christopher and Todd Szegedy will start on the front row after winning their respective heat races for the Spencer Speedway 155 Sunday.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour start is slated to take the green at approxiamely 3 p.m.

Christopher, the points leader, pulled away from a brief challenge by Donny Lia on the green flag of the first 15-lap heat race and led the rest of the way en route to the victory. Mike Stefanik finished second, followed by Woody Pitkat, Lia and Ron Silk.

Continue reading ‘HEATS: Christopher, Szegedy win’

PRACTICE: Rudolph Tops Mods

Williamson, NY — Erick Rudolph had the fastest practice time Sunday as the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour prepared for the Spencer Speedway 155.

Rudolph’s No. 59 Original Pizza Logs/Prime Tyme Chevrolet circled the flat half-mile in 19.752 seconds for an average speed of 91.130.

Chuck Hossfeld was second quick at 19.784 (90.983), and Donny Lia was third at 19.786 (90.973). Rowan Pennink and points leader Ted Christopher rounded out the top five.

Continue reading ‘PRACTICE: Rudolph Tops Mods’