Archive for August 12th, 2009

Flannery, Alessio, Christensen, Lomartire and Payea find Victory Lane before Mother Nature ends racing

Waterford, CT — Mother Nature ended Wild ‘n Wacky prematurely, however not before fresh faces and a few repeat winners reached Speedbowl Victory Lane. Frank Alessio was a first time winner in the Super X-Cars, youngsters Tony Flannery and Chris Lomartire returned to the winner’s circle and Dylan Payea won the first ever New England Champ Kart Series event held at the ‘Bowl. Mike Marvin won the HDRA 100 foot drags.

Tony Flannery of East Hampton led the early laps of the 20-lap Legends Car event from his pole starting position. Carl Blandina of Milford, Dennis Pantani of Branford and Alessandro Vitelli of Woodbridge settled in single file behind the leader, while last week’s stars Justin Rau and Jason Palmer were looking to move into the top five.

The battle for position amongst the leaders was starting to pick up when the only caution waved over the field on lap six for two cars coming together in turn two.

[Photo Gallery] by Adam Fohlin
Continue reading ‘Flannery, Alessio, Christensen, Lomartire and Payea find Victory Lane before Mother Nature ends racing’

TV Alert: NASCAR Camping World Series Events to Re-Air on SPEED

WHO: NASCAR Camping World Series Events

WHAT: Slate of Races Set to Re-Air


Two “must-see” NASCAR Camping World Series races are set to re-air on SPEED. Fans will get another opportunity to see this year’s NASCAR Camping World Series West race from Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif., that featured a dual to the finish between Patrick Long and Joey Logano. Viewers will also get a chance to see the dramatic finish to the NASCAR Camping World Series East event from New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, N.H., in which developmental drivers Ryan Truex and Matt DiBenedetto battled for the win.

In addition, some upcoming NASCAR Camping World Series races are slated for a special overnight re-air.
Continue reading ‘TV Alert: NASCAR Camping World Series Events to Re-Air on SPEED’

An Eighth Different Winner at the Bowl??

Canaan NH — It was Ringo Starr who once told us “It Don’t Come Easy.” Perhaps those song lyrics could apply to the True Value Modified Racing Series as a second win at Waterford Speedbowl has been hard to come buy. In seven races held at the famed Connecticut race track, seven different winners have found victory lane. No one has doubled up at “The Bowl.”

That could change Saturday night, Aug 15, when New England’s premier Modified Racing Series makes its next stop on the 2009 tour. Or, is it possible an eighth different driver could score the Sunoco Race Fuels checkered flag.

The previous races run have provided some surprises for modified race fans. A rookie driver has scored a series win there. Four drivers with roots at Waterford have won. And one driver, who had never seen Waterford until arriving there, also found victory lane.
Continue reading ‘An Eighth Different Winner at the Bowl??’

Statistical Advance: Analyzing The Mohegan Sun 200 At Lime Rock

The NASCAR Camping World Series East is set for its 17th annual trip to Lime Rock Park for the Mohegan Sun 200 on Saturday, August 15, in Lakeville, Conn.

Lime Rock Park Data
#9 of 11 (8/15/09)
Track Layout: 1.53-mile, 12-turn road course
Race Length: 82 laps/200 kilometers (125.46 miles)

Qualifying/Race Data
2008 pole winner:
None – rain
2008 race winner: Matt Kobyluck (99.309 mph (record), 1:15.48)
Qualifying Record: Bryan Wall (102.778 mph, 53.591 seconds, 10/12/01)

Continue reading ‘Statistical Advance: Analyzing The Mohegan Sun 200 At Lime Rock’

Seekonk Speedway PASS 150 Information


Their basic rule is no one under 18 in the pits. However, if the driver or a crew member is under 18 here are the requirements.

Need Under 18 Consent Form, must be signed by BOTH parents and NOTARIZED. If both parents are present at the track they do have a notary available there.

Forms may be found by going to
Fast Fridays
Under 18 Consent Form

Other information:
Pits Open at 1 pm
Practice at 3 pm
Grandstands Open at 4 pm

Continue reading ‘Seekonk Speedway PASS 150 Information’

Plenty of firsts when PASS North visits Seekonk Saturday

Seekonk, MA — The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North super late models have raced hundreds of times from Nova Scotia to Connecticut in their nine year history, but this Saturday the series will make its’ first appearance in the Bay State when they travel to the birthplace of the Pro Stock, Seekonk Speedway.

The first ever PASS battle at the Cement Palace will pit a collection of Seekonk’s weekly competitors against the toughest touring pros in the Northeast, and it’s entirely possible that the PASS regulars will be up ended for two races in a row. Randy Turner claimed the winner’s spoils at Unity Raceway two weeks ago, and home track advantage played a major role in his triumph over the likes of DJ Shaw and Ben Rowe. Seekonk is home to a very strong field of weekly racers and they know “their” track inside out. Fred Astle, Tom Scully Jr. and Sr., and a host of other Seekonk specialists will be on hand when Cirelli Foods presents the PASS 150 Saturday night.

Continue reading ‘Plenty of firsts when PASS North visits Seekonk Saturday’

NEMA Moves On To Waterford Speedbowl

Brockton, MA — With four different winners in seven races, one of the most competitive seasons in recent Northeastern Midget Association memory returns to Waterford Speedbowl Saturday night. NEMA will be part of the ‘Bowl’s Wheels & Wings program.

Jeff Abold, so impressive in last Saturday’s Boston Louie Memorial, joins defending champion Randy Cabral (3), Nokie Fornoro (2) and Adam Cantor (1) on the win list. The latter three are battling for the point lead as well.
Continue reading ‘NEMA Moves On To Waterford Speedbowl’