Archive for March 15th, 2010

25 Years of ACT Racing: 1991 Champion – Junior Hanley

1991 Champion – Junior Hanley

The 1991 season was the first of three consecutive seasons in which Junior Hanley earned the ACT Tour championship. It was Hanley’s first full season with ACT and he set the record for most money earned in a single season with over $236,000 in winnings. 1991 saw just seven event winners; Hanley (7), Crouch (6), Dave Dion (3), Kevin Lepage (2), Ralph Nason, Bob Randall and Dan Beede, in its 21 events. Randall and Beede earned their first career wins. Future ACT Tour champion Brad Leighton earned the Rookie of the Year honors, while driving a June and Gardiner Leavitt owned ride. Below is a review of Junior Hanley’s first title season:

“To the amazement of many, Canada’s most famous stock car racing outlaw, Junior Hanley, made the commitment to run the entire ACT schedule in 1991. But his decision was not as surprising as one might think. With some $400,000 in season ending monies available, including a $50,000 bonus to the driver who could earn the most points during the seven month race season, it was, quite possibly, one of the more logical conclusions reached by the Campbellville, Ontario resident.

Perhaps the one thing that was shocking to the racing community about Hanley’s decision was his choice of car – a Ford Thunderbird. Never in the Series’ 13 year history, had a Ford won the Championship. It looked like the General Motors domination might be in for a challenge.
Continue reading ’25 Years of ACT Racing: 1991 Champion – Junior Hanley’

Speedbowl SK Modified® division ramping up for 2010

Waterford, CT — Every March as the winter hiatus begins to break, word of off-season moves and newcomers to the racing scene escalates to near fever pitch. The upcoming season in the SK Modified® division at the Speedbowl exemplifies that more than ever. Names synonymous with Speedbowl success plus others looking to play an active role in the track’s headline NASCAR Whelen All-American Series division have emerged, making this one of the most eventful off-seasons in recent memory.

Two past track champions lead the list of those looking to get back into weekly racing action at the ‘Bowl. Todd Ceravolo, the 1997 division champion will return to weekly action for the first time in more than a decade. Ceravolo has won 19 career races at the shoreline oval. His father Dick was the 1988 track champion. Ricky Young, the 1991 division champion also eyes a possible return to competition for the first time since 2004. He has 14 career wins, but none since 2003.
Continue reading ‘Speedbowl SK Modified® division ramping up for 2010’ Now Goes Wherever You Go!!

Waterford, CT — The Waterford Speedbowl management team is pleased to announce the newest addition to, a mobile friendly site.

This new site will be an extension of the current site, playing host to some of the great features already found on but slimmed down to work best on your mobile device. Features like the top bar scroll, Latest News from the Bowl, Driver Point Standings, Race Results, Lap Times, Nightly Event Schedules, and Season Schedules will be seen easily on this site in the new mobile friendly format.

New additions to the mobile friendly site that will not be found on the full site include Mobile Alerts, which throughout a race night will inform you when updates are made to race results, point standings and other special events or deals. A Mobile Poll will bring fan interaction to an all-time high. Questions and opinions of fans in the stands may be used to get you, the fan, involved. Also available may be Mobile Offers via online coupons, affording Speedbowl fans instant savings by showing their mobile device at the Box Office or Concessions.
Continue reading ‘ Now Goes Wherever You Go!!’

Icebreaker First Step Towards 2010 Thompson Championships

Thompson, CT — The season-opening Icebreaker, April 10th and 11th, at the Thompson International Speedway kicks off the racing season and the drive for a coveted division championship at the historic speedway. In all, six NASCAR Whelen All-American Series division titles are up for grabs for Thompson’s weekly racers. The historic speedway is also the location where many other championships like the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, NEMA Midgets, ISMA Super Modifieds and others are traditionally decided at the end of the racing season.

Race teams look to the Icebreaker to kick start their season. Many feel that a good finish in this event will lead to a successful racing season. Keith Rocco, the 2009 Sunoco Modified champion began his chase for the title with a win at last year’s Icebreaker. The record book shows the same for Thompson Modified driver and champion Brian Sullivan. Super Late Model driver, Derek Ramstrom began his march to that division’s championship with a top five finish as did Late Model titlist John Materas and Limited Sportsman champ, Larry Barnett. The only exception to this pattern was Mini Stock title winner Scott Michalski. After a dismal Icebreaker weekend, Michalski went on a tear and won the title by a 58 points advantage.

Every race team will have an opportunity to fine tune their race cars before the Icebreaker. The track has scheduled two open practice sessions leading up to the April 10th and 11th Icebreaker weekend. The track will open the pit gates at 10 AM on the mornings of March 27th and again on April 3rd. The track will be race ready when the cars begin their “round robin” practice sessions at 11 AM. A full six hours on each day have been set aside expressly for this purpose.

Continue reading ‘Icebreaker First Step Towards 2010 Thompson Championships’

March 2010
« Feb   Apr »