Cain, Gambacorta & Membrino Score Spring Sizzler Sat. Wins

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Motor Speedway’s 2010 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season kicked off with its first three feature events of the new year during Saturday’s CARQUEST Tech-Net Spring Sizzler Weekend. Ted Cain went home a first time winner in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Kevin Gambacorta outlasted defending track champion Andrew Durand to take the first Limited Late Model victory of the season, and Tony Membrino, Jr. wired the field to take the checkered flag in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature event.

In the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature event, the field completed one lap before the caution flag came out for a spin by Kyle Spencer. Ted Cain took the lead ahead of Tony Santangelo and Frank Cardile as the race went back to green. Cardile quickly worked his way by Santangelo to take over second place. David Webb settled into fourth place behind Santangelo with Matt Galko moving from 12th up to 5th in the first several laps of the race.

Webb moved by Santangelo on lap-11 for third place and the caution came back out one lap later for a spin by Joey Cipriano in turn 4. Cardile moved to the lead on the restart with Webb moving into second. Cain fell back to third place, with John Hanafin moving into fourth and Galko continuing to run in the fifth position. Spencer and Cipriano went around in turn 4 with 14 laps on the scoreboard to bring the yellow flag back out and slow the action.

Results & Standings:
SK Light Modified Feature Results

SK Light Modified Points Standings

Limited Late Model Feature Results

Ltd. Late Model Points Standings
DARE Stock Feature Results
DARE Stock Points Standings

Cardile maintained the lead back under green with Webb right on his bumper. Webb made his move for the lead on lap-18 and was stretching out his lead when the caution came out on lap-19, setting up a green white checkered finish. Webb missed a shift on the restart, allowing Cain to move to the race lead. Cardile was second and Webb fell back to third, but Webb was able to get back by Cardile as the field came to the white flag. Webb closed in on Cain’s bumper as they came off turn 4 to the checkered flag, but ran out of room as Cain beat Webb to the start/finish line by a nose to take down his first career victory in the SK Light Modified division at Stafford. Rounding out the top-5 behind Cain and Webb was Erica Santos, Hanafin, and Galko.

In the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature event, before the field could complete the first lap, the caution came out for a multi-car spin in turn 4 involving Paul Varricchio, Jr., Joe Nogiec, and Dan Flannery. Andrew Durand took the lead at the green, but he was quickly overtaken by Kevin Gambacorta for the race lead. Rob Dow moved into third, with Mike Wray fourth and George Nocera, Jr. in fifth. The race would run from green to checkered with Gambacorta proving to be too much for Durand to overtake and he took down the first Limited Late Model feature victory of the 2010 season. Rounding out the top-5 behind Gambacorta and Durand was Dow, Wray, and Nocera, Jr.

In the 15-lap DARE Stock feature event, the race belonged to Tony Membrino, Jr. Membrino took the lead at the drop of the green flag and he led all 15 laps to take the checkered flag. Membrino had to hold off a hard charge from defending DARE Stock champion Don Wood in the closing laps to come home the winner. Jeff Jolly finished third, with Kyle Casagrande fourth and Albert Saunders fifth.

For more information contact the Stafford Motor Speedway track office at (860) 684-2783, or visit us on the web at

Sources: Scott Running/Stafford Motor Speedway PR


April 2010
« Mar   May »