Seekonk Speedway readies for 65th season opener with Phil’s Propane 75 for the ARC Pro Stocks

Seekonk, MA — With the winter months behind us, the staff and management of Seekonk Speedway are making the final preparations for their 65th season opened at the famed Bay State oval on Sunday, May 2.

Headlining the show will be the ARC Pro Stocks, as they will battle for supremacy in the Phil’s Propane 75, with $2,000 up for grabs to the winner. In addition to the extra cash, the winner will also be a guaranteed starter in the P.A.S.S. 150 on Saturday, August 14.

Phil’s Propane has been a constant supporter of Seekonk Speedway for over a decade, as a speedway partner, sponsor and car owner. They service over 5,000 residential, commercial, and industrial accounts all over Newport and Bristol Counties, and continue to expand. They provide bulk propane delivery, installation of space heating, water heating and other propane equipment. They provide 24 hour emergency service. They have been setting the Standard for Service and Safety in Rhode Island and Southeast Massachusetts for over Fifty Years.

Reigning ARC Pro Stock Champion Fred Astle Jr of Westport is coming off one of his best seasons, picking up 7 wins on the way to his fourth title. He also picked up one of the biggest wins in his career in the DAV Fall Classic, the first in his storied career.

Rehoboth’s Dave Darling, a two time Champion has picked up the opening day 75 lappers in two of the last three seasons, and is ready to pick up where he left off last season in a new mount. He also picked up the second 75 lap qualifier in 2009, proving that the extra distance races are one of his strong points. Eight of his 32 career Seekonk Speedway victories have been in extra distance events.

Tom Scully Jr has become a force to be reckoned with over the past few seasons, and has been getting stronger in the long races. He has picked up a DAV Fall Classic, and the defending winner of the PASS 150, held last August. Other drivers to watch out for include veterans Ken Spencer and Mike Brightman. Ryan Vanasse is ready to return to the Pro Stock wars, and will join the battle with up and comers Jake Vanada, Kyle Casper, Rookie Kevin Casper, and Rob Murphy.

Rick Martin, a four time Pro Stock Champ will be coming back to the Pro Stock wars behind the wheel of the DeSouza Motorsports #14. Ray Parent. Ed Holewiak and more have registered for the 2010 Pro Stock chase.

The Late Models will also be part of the activities, as they will race for opening day bragging rights. Ryan Vanasse picked up the opening day win, and rode that, and six additional victories, on the way to his first title. He will have a host of competition for the crown, as 4 time Late Model Champion Gerry DeGasparre has vowed to be up for the challenge in 2010. Gerry picked up 3 wins and finished second in the title chase. Defending Rookie of the Year Frank Duquette has prepared as well as anyone, and is looking to add to his two wins last year. Bill Bernard, Matt Breault, and Randy Burr, will join rookies Kyle DeSouza, Dennis Stange, Bobby Pelland III, and Ron Barboza for the stage in January.

In the Street Stocks, you will need an extra set of hands trying to count the number of drivers that can win on any night. Reigning champion Mike Mitchell will lead the three wide parade around the 1/3 mile. He will be chased by a host of competition, including Ryan Lineham, Steve Axon, Scott Serydynski, Mark Henshaw Jr, Crystal Serydynski, Chris DeMoura, Scott Bruneau, Tony Oliveira and more. The Street Stocks have become one of the most competitive divisions anywhere in the North East, and never fail to excite.

The Seekonk Sport Trucks will round out the opening day card. With reigning title holder Jody Tripp taking a season off, the head table is up for grabs. Those gunning for the title will be many. Rick Martin lead the way with eleven wins in 2009, and should be the one showing the way. But he will have a ton of competition. John Paiva and Russ Borges have upped their programs over the winter and are ready for action. Hugh Bowser is looking forward to a great run, as is Lenny Guy, Dylan Estrella, Dane Saritelli and Mike Ronhock. Ted Berube returns to the Truck wars after a couple of seasons off, and picked up the 2009 championship machine and has made minor adjustments, to fit his style.

Qualifying starts at 2pm on Sunday afternoon. The Pro Stocks will run Time Trials to line up the qualifying heats. Those will start approx. 1:45. The heats for the Late Models, Trucks and Street Stocks will be lined up by a blind draw. Consolation races will be run as needed.

Tickets for this event are just $12.00 for adults, while kids under 12 are FREE. Pit gates will open at 10am, with practice starting at noon. There will be an open practice on Saturday, May 1st. Pit admission is $30.00, and you must be 16 to enter the pit area. For more information, you can contact the track office at (508) 336-9959, or check us out at

Sources: Kevin Boucher/Seekonk Speedway PR

April 2010
« Mar   May »