May 15, 2010

Laticrete Renews Sponsorship of Lee Modified Race

Filed under: Lee USA,VMRS — mod134 @ 11:48 am

Bethany, CT –In a joint announcement, LATICRETE INTERNATIONAL Inc. and the Lee (N.H.) Speedway are proud to announce a sponsorship agreement to present the LATICRETE Port City 100 for the Modified Racing Series presented by Bob Valenti Auto Mall.com on Friday, July 9, featuring an increased purse for every finishing position as a result.

This agreement allows nearly all of the sponsorship money to go directly to the race teams, bringing the first place prize money for 2010 to a minimum of $3,000 thanks to additional money provided by race fan Jim Schaefer from Long Island. Twenty-four drivers will earn a minimum of $500 to start the event.

The first annual LATICRETE sponsored event in 2009 saw Jimmy Kuhn of East Bridgewater, Ma., winning his first-ever series race, as he took the lead in the final few laps of an exciting event that brought a competitive field of drivers and a near capacity crowd to the NASCAR sanctioned facility.


Pitkat, Moltz, Cipriano, Durand & Casagrande Score May 14th NASCAR Whelen All-American Feature Victories at Stafford

Filed under: Stafford — mod134 @ 12:56 am

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Motor Speedway returned to racing action with a NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program on Friday, May 14th. Woody Pitkat picked up his first win of the 2010 season in the 40-lap SK Modified┬« feature, Dillon Moltz got win number two of 2010 in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Joey Cipriano scored his first career victory in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Andrew Durand won the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Cory Casagrande was the second first time career winner of the night by taking the 15-lap DARE Stock feature.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Brad Hietala took the early lead ahead of Ted Christopher, Todd Owen, Woody Pitkat, and Sean Foster. The action was slowed with 3 laps complete for Curt Brainard, who came to a stop in turn 2. Hietala took the lead back under green with Owen moving into second. The car on the charge was Frank Ruocco, who restarted 10th and quickly moved into a battle with Dan Avery for fourth place on lap-7. Ruocco took third from Christopher on lap-8 while Hietala and Owen continued to hold down the top two positions.

Ruocco ran in third until lap-13 when he moved by Owen for second. The action was slowed with 17 laps complete for a spin by Raymond Grassetti. On the restart, the cars of Hietala and Ruocco made contact while dueling for the lead and both cars spun, which collected several other cars and brought the yellow back out. The order was now Owen and Christopher on the front row, with Avery and Pitkat behind them for the restart.


Powered by WordPress