Archive for July 3rd, 2010

Captain Kirk Wins Sixth Firecracker 100

Winchester, N.H. – “Captain” Kirk Alexander, the three-time Modified Racing Series champion, captured his sixth “Firecracker 100” win Saturday night, July 3, at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH. The win was his 19th at Monadnock and his 32nd career win with the touring series for modified race cars.

Alexander passed early race leader Sean Bodreau, Claremont, NH., on lap 15, and went on to score the victory. Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, MA., finished second after a late race charge followed by Jim Boniface, Winchester, NH who finished third. Chris Pasteryak, Jewett City, CT., and Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT.. rounded out the top five.

33 race teams entered the 100-lap event with 24 cars starting the feature race. 14 cars finished on the lead lap. The race was completed in 36 minutes with only three caution periods slowing the pace. The race is listed as unofficial pending technical inspection.

Continue reading ‘Captain Kirk Wins Sixth Firecracker 100’

Quarterley’s Late Rally Takes Lime Rock 100

Late Pass Of A Dominant Szegedy Takes Checkers

Lakeville, CT — In just his third start in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Dale Quarterley got past the weekend’s dominant car of Todd Szegedy with three laps remaining and captured the checkered flag in the inaugural Lime Rock 100 at Lime Rock Park.

Szegedy, the Coors Light Pole Award winner on Friday, led from the start of the race, and at times drove away from the field. Following a caution on Lap 56, Quarterley restarted fourth when the race went back green on Lap 59. He then worked past Ted Christopher and Mike Stefanik and was able to make the winning move on Szegedy in Turn 1 on Lap 63.

Quarterley, from Westfield, Mass., made his first Whelen Modified Tour appearance since 2008 as he drove the No. 52 Furnace & Duct Supply Chevrolet this weekend for car owner Wayne Darling.

Szegedy wound up second, followed by Ron Silk, Ryan Preece and Christopher in the top five.

[Photo Gallery] by Adam Fohlin
[Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Post-Race Interviews

Wayne Darling

Continue reading ‘Quarterley’s Late Rally Takes Lime Rock 100’

PASS North: Ben Rowe Reigns, Breaks Johnny Clark’s Skein

Naples ME — Ben Rowe has run up front in all four Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North races to date and Saturday night the four time series champ took Scott Mulkern’s Community Pharmacies 48 to victory lane, a first in the win column for the new team led by journeyman crew chief Seth Holbrook.

Rowe took the lead for good on lap 84 of Saturday night’s 150 lap Fourth of July Spectacular at Canaan (NH) Fair Speedway, battling with Johnny Clark over the final sixty six laps to claim the victory and foil Clark’s shot at four straight PASS North super late model wins.

Richie Dearborn had a strong run, racing up from the back half of the grid to finish third. Trevor Sanborn led a bunch but had to settle for fourth when the checkers dropped. Adam Bates gained eight spots for a fine top five.

Continue reading ‘PASS North: Ben Rowe Reigns, Breaks Johnny Clark’s Skein’

Rocco, Posocco, Liseo, Thibeault & Daddio Score July 2nd NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Victories at Stafford

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Speedway was back in action with a NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program on Friday night, July 2nd. Keith Rocco continued his winning ways in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event for his fourth consecutive and seventh overall win of the 2010 season, Ryan Posocco picked up his second win of 2010 in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Dylan Liseo scored his first career victory by a nose in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Shawn Thibeault won his first race of the season in the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Stephen Daddio was a first time career winner in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Sean Foster took the lead at the green ahead of Josh Sylvester, Mark Bakaj, Matt Gallo, and Dan Avery. Eric Berndt spun in turn 4 to bring the caution out with 4 laps complete. On the restart, Sylvester moved by Foster to take over the race lead. The cars of Gallo and Frank Ruocco made contact in turn 3 to bring the caution back out.

On the restart, Foster jumped the start and the caution came back out and Foster was sent to the rear of the field. Sylvester took the lead on the restart, but Ted Christopher was on the charge and he moved from fourth to second. Sylvester held the lead until Christopher moved to the front on lap-9.

[Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Rocco, Posocco, Liseo, Thibeault & Daddio Score July 2nd NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Victories at Stafford’