Archive for July 10th, 2010

TC Files first entry for 6th Annual Modified Madness at Seekonk Speedway

Seekonk, MA — With less than two weeks away until the 6th Annual Open Wheel Wednesday, the modified entries are starting to roll in. 2008 NASCAR Whelen Modified Champion and former NASCAR Weekly Racing Series National Champion Ted Christopher hopes that joining forces with defending car owner winner Wayne Darling will pay off with the $10,000 winners’ share. Darling has won the previous two events with Chris Pasteryak (2009) and Matt Hirschman (2008).

Additional entries that have been received for the modified portion are 2008 winner Matt Hirschman, six time Seekonk Speedway Champion and former winner of this event Vinnie Annarummo, seven time NASCAR Modified Champion Mike Stefanik, three time Modified Racing Series and the second winner of this race, Kirk Alexander, Jimmy Kuhn, Todd Annarummo, David Berghman, Rob Summers, and Louie Mechalides. Additional entries continue to roll in daily.

Former winners of this race are Donny Lia, Kirk Alexander, Vinny Annarummo, Matt Hirschman and Chris Pasteryak.

Continue reading ‘TC Files first entry for 6th Annual Modified Madness at Seekonk Speedway’

Mother Nature takes another from the Konk

Seekonk, MA – In a pattern of regularity, rain continued across southern Massachusetts, forcing management to cancel the events of the evening. The Pro Stocks, Late Models, Street Stocks and Sport Trucks will run again this coming Saturday, July 17, with their Mid-Season Championships. Extra distance racing with a little extra $$ in the purse is sure to get everyone up on the wheel.

Also on tap will be the Bike Run for the Providence, RI Ronald McDonald House. This is the sixth Annual run in memory of Ed Holewiak III. Many competitors will be racing “For The House”, meaning they will offer up a portion, or all, of their winnings and donate it to the Providence Ronald McDonald House. They have raised over $175,000 so far for The House. This event was supposed to kick off the Run, but with the cancellation, it will close out the run, which was held on Sunday, July 11th. A check will be presented to The House on Saturday, July 24th.

There is no word on a rescheduled date for the S.T.A.R. & N.E.A.R. cars that were set to take us back to yesteryear. A date will be announced once a date has been set.

Continue reading ‘Mother Nature takes another from the Konk’

Ashley Kuhn picks up first SYRA win. Jamie Salley, Jason Enos II and Taylor Therrien all break through for first season victories

Seekonk, MA — Jamie Salley jumped out from his outside pole start and never looked back in the 25 lap Pure Stock feature, picking up his first win of the 2010 season. In a race that went green to checkered, Salley opened up a commanding lead, winning by over 6 seconds over Amy Arsenault. Salley had been shut out since late last season, but had been running well in each event.

Amy picked up her best finish of the season, moving her way up to second by the sixth circuit, but could never close in on Salley. In the closing laps, Randy Moretti closed in and put heavy pressure on the Pawtucket native, missing the runner-up spot by .150 seconds.

Points leader Nick Uhrig had to start in the final starting spot by virtue of his victory in the last event. With no cautions to bunch up the field, and heavy traffic, the Warwick native was only able to work himself into sixth by the final lap. His closest points chaser is former Pure Stock Champion Bill Chouinard. Bill started 15th in the 24 car field and was able to find his way into fourth. This will tighten up the chase for the Championship a bit as we inch closer to the halfway point. Earl Curtin rounded out the top five.

Continue reading ‘Ashley Kuhn picks up first SYRA win. Jamie Salley, Jason Enos II and Taylor Therrien all break through for first season victories’

Speedbowl Cancels July 10 race program

Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl has cancelled Saturday’s scheduled Old School Enduro racing program due to weather. The make up date for this event will be announced at a later date.

The next event for the Speedbowl will be Wednesday, July 14’s Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing program, featuring free youth admission and adult admission of just $7. Spectator gates open at 5:30pm, and racing gets underway at 7:00pm.

Next Saturday, July 17 will see NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing return to the shoreline oval for a five-division program.

Continue reading ‘Speedbowl Cancels July 10 race program’

McKennedy Nabs Hometown Win at Lee

Lee, NH — Defending Modified Racing Series champion Jon McKennedy of East Chelmsford, MA., scored his first win of the season Friday night, July 9, when he won the “Laticrete Port City 100” before a huge crowd at Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH.

The win was McKennedy’s eighth career victory with the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti AutoMall.Com., and his second at the Lee oval.

The race was competitive right from the start with five different leaders and seven lead changes throughout the 100 lap green flag race.

Pole sitter Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., led the opening lap with Mike Ordway Jr taking over the top spot on lap two. The Fremont, NH., driver led the field until lap 16 when another local favorite, Louie Mechalides, Tygnsboro, MA., took the lead.

Continue reading ‘McKennedy Nabs Hometown Win at Lee’

Ruocco, Rocco, Barrett, Dow & Salva Score July 9th NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Victories at Stafford

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Speedway was back in action with a NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program on Friday night, July 9th. Frank Ruocco took his second victory of the 2010 season in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Keith Rocco picked up his first career Late Model feature victory in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Tommy Barrett scored his third win of the 2010 season in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Rob Dow won his first race of the season in the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Nick Salva was a first time career winner in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Josh Sylvester was the early leader with Sean Foster behind him. Frank Ruocco moved from fifth to third, but with 2 laps complete several cars spun in turn 3 including Curt Brainard and Michael Gervais, Jr., and then Mark Bakaj got hard into the wall coming off turn 4, which helped send John Montesanto and Eric Berndt through the frontstretch infield.

Back under green it was Sylvester out front with Foster, Frank Ruocco, Todd Owen, and Zach Sylvester making up the top-5, but the field was only able to complete one lap before Woody Pitkat took a spin though the frontstretch infield to bring the yellow back out.

[Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Ruocco, Rocco, Barrett, Dow & Salva Score July 9th NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Victories at Stafford’