Archive for July 31st, 2010

Pennink Earns First Whelen Modified Win

Edges Preece For Riverhead 200 Checkered Flag

Rowan Pennink held off Ryan Preece in a late-race duel to claim the checkered flag in the Riverhead 200 and his first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory Saturday night.

The 24-year-old Huntingdon Valley, Pa., driver was making his 51st career start. He took the lead from Riverhead resident Kevin Goodale with 40 laps to go and weathered restarts on two ensuing cautions to bring home the win.

“I just rode behind him [Goodale] for a couple laps, and saw where he was not handling too good up off of [Turn] 4 there. I set the car in pretty good on the top and just cut across the bottom in the middle of the corner and got a wheel up underneath him and beat him down there into Turn 1,” Pennink said of what proved to be the winning pass.

Continue reading ‘Pennink Earns First Whelen Modified Win’

Sylvain Lacombe Wins Ste-Eustache 100

Terrebonne, QC’s Sylvain Lacombe earned his 14th career Serie ACT Castrol Edge win in the Ste-Eustache 100 at Autodrome Ste-Eustache on Saturday, July 31. Lacombe led the final nine laps of the event to take the win.

Jean-Francois Dery led the majority of the event and appeared to have the car to beat before Jonathan Urlin used the bump and run to get by him with nine laps to go. Urlin was black flagged for the move, giving Lacombe the lead as Dery fell back in the outside lane.

Lacombe was chased to the line by Patrick Laperle and rookie Martin Latulippe. Martin Lacombe came home fourth while Dery recovered to finish fifth. Jonathan Bouvrette, Philippe Jeannotte, Patrick Hamel, Claude Leclerc, and David Michaud completed the top ten.
Continue reading ‘Sylvain Lacombe Wins Ste-Eustache 100’

Sanborn Seals the Deal at PASS Summerfest 150

Naples, ME — Trevor Sanborn found a way to get by team mate Travis Benjamin on lap 83 of Saturday nights Pro All Stars Series (PASS) super late model feature at Groveton NH’s Riverside Speedway, earning his first career PASS North win. Sanborn and Benjamin gave the Richard Moody Racing team a sweep of the top two spots. Richie Dearborn crossed the line third.

Sanborn has been fast all season long, leading 262 laps prior to the Summerfest 150. But despite several podium finishes, the two time PASS South race winner had been unable to drive under the checkers first in the northern series until Saturday night.

Ben Rowe picked up six spots from the grid to finish fourth; 2009 Summerfest 150 winner Cassius Clark was fifth. Donnie Whitten had another solid run in sixth, while point leader Johnny Clark finished outside of the top five for just the second time in 2010 with a seventh place result. Scott Chubbuck, Gary Drew and Adam Bates raced home eighth, ninth and tenth.

Continue reading ‘Sanborn Seals the Deal at PASS Summerfest 150’

PASS Mod Win Number Three for Shaw at Riverside

Naples, ME  —  Andy Shaw came back strong after an early race tangle to pass Scott McDaniel on a lap 25 restart and win his third Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Mod feature of 2010 at Groveton New Hampshire’s Riverside Speedway. The win was Shaw’s eighth feauture victory in the ultracompetitive PASS open wheel division.

The 40 lap go got off to a rough start with a pair of cautions that involved several of the front runners including Mike Mayberry, Wayne Whitten Jr., Kevin Douglass and Shaw. After a pair of restarts a race finally broke out with Rich Ferreira out front. Scott McDaniel charged past Alan Wilson for second and claimed the lead from Ferreira on lap six. McDaniel had the look of a winner as he took off from the pack, building up a sizeable lead over Wayne Whitten Jr. Meanwhile Shaw was rumbling through the field after his lap four dustup joining a great scrap for second with Whitten, Wilson, and Ferreira.

By lap 23 second place was Shaw’s and he set sail to try and chase down McDaniel. McDaniel had done his best to run away from the rest of the field, building up a huge lead as the battle for position continued behind him.

Continue reading ‘PASS Mod Win Number Three for Shaw at Riverside’

Frank Ruocco Wins 7th Annual CARQUEST SK 150 at Stafford Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Speedway returned to racing action with the richest SK Modified® race of the 2010 season, the 7th Annual CARQUEST SK 150. Frank Ruocco had two early spins, but came storming back through the field to take his second consecutive victory in the extra distance classic. Woody Pitkat took his fifth victory of the 2010 season in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Tommy Barrett, Jr. picked up his third consecutive and fifth win of the 2010 season in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Rob Dow scored his second consecutive victory in the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature event, and Jeff Jolly and Josh Wood were the winners of the 15-lap DARE Stock feature events.

In the 7th Annual CARQUEST SK 150 feature, Eric Berndt took the lead from the pole and set the early pace ahead of Sean Foster, Chris Jones, Jeff Malave, Woody Pitkat, and Dan Avery. Jones and Malave moved past Foster to drop him from second back to fourth in the running order while Berndt continued to lead. Ryan Preece spun in turn 2 to bring the yellow out on lap-10.

The race went back to green on lap-13 with Berndt continuing to hold the lead. Jones was second with Frank Ruocco, Malave, and Zach Sylvester making up the top-5. Woody Pitkat, Keith Rocco, Sean Foster, Ted Christopher, and Avery made up the back half of the top-10.

[Photo Gallery] by Adam Fohlin

Continue reading ‘Frank Ruocco Wins 7th Annual CARQUEST SK 150 at Stafford Speedway’