Archive for August 21st, 2010

Lindeman’s First Truck Win at Thompson Speedway

Andy Lindeman of Poestenkill, NY, came on late in the New England Truck Series (NETS) feature event to score the victory. The NETS had a short field but there was no shortage of action; especially in the early going. The #16 Lee-Boy sponsored Chevy of Willy Auchmoody, took advantage of his front row starting position to show the way from the drop of the green flag.

The #83 FEB sponsored Chevy of Gee Perry had rocketed from his fourth starting position to run second on the opening lap, immediately, Perry was locked in a heated battle for the lead with Auchmoody.

Starting the feature from the back, the # 0 New England ATV sponsored Chevy of Howard Hurricane Payne, wasted no time in pursuit of the third position in tow with Perry. Coming out of turn four, on lap four, Payne moved up into second position with Perry on his inside in third, making contact sending Payne into the infield putting him down two laps.

Continue reading ‘Lindeman’s First Truck Win at Thompson Speedway’

Jason Bonnett Wins Bond/WIX Tiger Tour 100 at Canaan

St. Albans, Vermont’s Jason Bonnett claimed the win in the third Bond/WIX Tiger Tour 100 event of 2010 held at Canaan Fair Speedway in Canaan, NH on Saturday, August 21. Bonnett survived four early cautions as he climbed his way through the field from his 15th starting position to inherit second on lap 20 after Joel Hodgdon was spun out of the lead by Derrick O’Donnell. After a three lap battle with rookie Jason Corliss, Bonnett took the lead for good and dominated the remainder of the event.

Tony Rossi claimed second while current point leader Tom Therrien worked his way back to a third place finish after being involved in an early caution. Hodgdon recovered to take fourth followed by Jimmy Hebert completing the top five. O’Donnell finished sixth followed by David Finck, Bobby Therrien, Josh Demers and Jay Webb.

The 100 lap event was completed in one hour and eleven minutes including a short red flag period due to a wild ride by Jason Corliss into a tire barrier off the backstretch on lap 89. Corliss was ok but his car couldn’t continue. The race saw a total of 10 cautions. 21 cars took the green flag with 13 taking the checkers, eight of which completed all 100 laps.

Continue reading ‘Jason Bonnett Wins Bond/WIX Tiger Tour 100 at Canaan’

The Second Annual Shane Hammond Driving School Sept. 10-11

Friday, September 10th – 10AM to 2PM
Saturday, September 11th – 9AM to 1PM
Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford, CT –
Presented by The First Turn Midget Driving Experience


Proceeds will benefit The Foundation
Option 1 – $395.00 for 25 laps  –  Option 2 – $695.00 for 50 laps.
Choose your date, September 10 or 11 and option 1 or 2
Space is limited and preregistration is required by September 4.

Continue reading ‘The Second Annual Shane Hammond Driving School Sept. 10-11’

J.J. Hill Wins 3rd Annual Late Model 100 at Stafford Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — The Late Model division took center stage at Stafford Motor Speedway this past Friday night with the 3rd Annual Late Model 100, the second extra distance event of the 2010 season. Joining the Late Model 100 was Stafford’s SK Modifieds®, SK Light Modifieds, DARE Stocks, and twin 20-lap Limited Late Model feature events. J.J. Hill was the big winner of the evening, taking his first career victory in the 100-lap extra distance classic. Newly crowned NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Keith Rocco took his 9th feature victory of the 2010 season in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Tommy Barrett, Jr. took his 7th win of the 2010 season in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, Andrew Durand and Rob Dow were the winners of the 20-lap Limited Late Model features, and Kyle Casagrande became the first three-time winner of the 2010 season in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature. 

#41 – J.J. Hill 

In the 100-lap Late Model feature event, Tom Fearn took the lead at the green with Scott Cook, Jim Peterson, Adam Gray, and Michael Bennett making up the top-5. Woody Pitkat, who won the Lincoln Tech Late Model 100 back in May at Stafford, spun and backed into the turn 1 wall with 3 laps complete to bring the caution out. Pitkat was able to get back out on the track and continue in the race. 

Fearn took the lead back under gren with Gray moving into second. J.J. Hill moved into third with Peterson falling back to fourth and Cook falling back to fifth just in front of Bennett. Peterson’s car was leaking fluid on lap-13 and he was brought to pit road for a consulation. With Peterson’s misfortune bringing him to pit road, Cook was now in second place, a full straighaway behind Fearn, who was setting sail while in the lead. Behind Cook was a que of cars including Bennett, Ryan Posocco, Dillon Moltz, and Wayne Coury, Jr. 

Continue reading ‘J.J. Hill Wins 3rd Annual Late Model 100 at Stafford Speedway’