Archive for September 19th, 2010

Sculy, Martin, DeGasparre, & Newcomb win the battle. Astle, Vanasse, Martin & Axon win the wars.


Westport’s Radical Rick Martin had an evening for himself, Saturday, coming on strong in his number 41 pickup to take it all. He won both heat and feature and made his commanding divisional lead stick for the championship over North Attleboro’s Dylan Estrella. In fact, winning the heat race, in which Estrella finished sixth, gave him enough points to haul down the championship before starting his motor for the feature race.

Into the feature, Martin started fifth on the field and within 5 laps was at the front and stayed there for the remaining 20 laps. Dan Leach, from North Dighton, gave Martin a good chase after Martin took the lead from him, all the way to the checkers, but Martin was not to be denied. Mike Cavallaro pulled a big third on the field, followed by Ed Gannon, Lenny guy and Estrella. Ted Berube, Michael Ronhock, Jariah Roderick and Ronny Cornell rounded out the top ten.

Seekonk’s Billy Clarke led from the pole through the first lap before Leach got underneath and into the lead from his spot low on the second row. Martin gunned through right behind Leach and Clarke was stuck on the outside and a parade was marching by beneath him. Estrella and Cornell got by while Gannon and Cavallaro were door-to-door behind them.

[Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Sculy, Martin, DeGasparre, & Newcomb win the battle. Astle, Vanasse, Martin & Axon win the wars.’

Yuhas back in SK Modified® Winner’s Circle; Hovey and Flannery continue winning ways while Leonard and Coates record first wins

Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl was in action on Saturday night, with a wild night of racing that put defending SK Modified® track champion Ron Yuhas Jr. of Groton back in the winner’s circle after a several month drought. Walt Hovey Jr. of Chaplin gave his points lead a boost with a win in the Street Stocks, as he continues to seek out his first track championship over the final weeks of the season. Bill Leonard of Wood River Junction, Rhode Island took his first win of the year in the Norwich Bulletin Mini Stock feature. Ledyard teenager Corey Coates earned his first career victory in the A.B. CDL Driver Training Center Truck race, continuing a winning family tradition. Anthony Flannery of East Hampton won another Legends Cars feature in his record-setting season.

The 35-lap SK Modified® race had Nichole Morgillo on the pole, with Kyle James and Joe Perry making up the top three positions. Perry was able to shoot by Morgillo on lap-1 to take the race lead, bringing Doug Coby up to second as Morgillo spun to bring out the first caution period on lap-2.

Perry continued his lead on the restart while Coby pressured Perry for the race lead. Jeffrey Paul battled with Coby for second, resulting in contact that sent Coby into the wall on the front stretch. Unfortunately for Coby, he was slammed by Tom Abele Jr. to bring out the caution and red flags after lap-3. Several other competitors were collected, pitting for repair.

Continue reading ‘Yuhas back in SK Modified® Winner’s Circle; Hovey and Flannery continue winning ways while Leonard and Coates record first wins’

Bowyer’s Big Risk Pays Off, Wins First Chase Race

Loudon, NH — Clint Bowyer surged from twelfth to second in the points standings after winning a racy and risky SYLVANIA 300. Fuel mileage was everything in the end when leader Tony Stewart came up empty at the white flag, allowing Bowyer to steal the first race in the “Chase for the Sprint Cup.”

Bowyer was strong right from the start. He led the most laps in taking his No. 33 Cheerios/Hamburger Helper Chevrolet to victory lane where he picked up not only the checkered flag but a 16lb New England lobster!

Confidence paid off when the team had to make a risky decision on whether to conserve fuel in the closing laps. Bowyer saved just enough fuel to cross the “Granite Stripe.”

[Photo Gallery] by Nathan Teto
Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Bowyer’s Big Risk Pays Off, Wins First Chase Race’

TUMS “Chowda” Challenge Winner Announced

Loudon, NH — TUMS nation was up bright and early this morning taste-testing a New England favorite Clam Chowder. Debbie and Wayne Wentworth of Pepperelle, Mass. have been coming to the speedway since the first Sprint Cup race in 1993, now have the proud title of the “Chowda” kings of New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Their chowder was voted the best homemade clam chowder, at “The Magic Mile” during the live cook off judged by NASCAR driver Michael Waltrip, former driver and current SPEED analyst Jimmy Spencer, Chef Sam Carlsen of Levy Restaurants, SPEED Racing Chef Nicky Morse, and David Reutimann driver of the No. 00 TUMS Toyota was on hand serving the chowder.

The five finalists worked in the early hours of the morning cooking up the chowder for their shot at becoming the official Chowder of New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2011.

Continue reading ‘TUMS “Chowda” Challenge Winner Announced’

Happy Race Day: The SYLVANIA 300 is Here!

Loudon, NH —  Finally, the first race in the “Chase for the Sprint Cup” has arrived! In a few hours, the stars of NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series will hit “The Magic Mile” for the SYLVANIA 300. Who will be the first Chaser to cross “The Granite Stripe”?

It is shaping up to be a beautiful fall New England day with sunny skies and highs in the mid-70’s. Fans are reminded that the green flag drops at 1:00 p.m.

Chowder enthusiasts can make their way to the TUMS Fast Relief Zone located in the Manufacturer’s Display Lot for the Tums “Chowda” Challenge from 8:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. The winner will be announced this afternoon after judging has concluded.

Continue reading ‘Happy Race Day: The SYLVANIA 300 is Here!’

Tour-Type Modifieds Headline Sunday Race at Thompson

Thompson, CT — The Tour-Type Modifieds will top the race card at Thompson International Speedway this coming Sunday, September 26th. This will mark the 4th appearance of the year for these ultra fast racers and they will help to draw down the curtain on weekly racing for the season. Upon completion of this race, which will consist of seven different divisions of competition, the track will then turn its attention to the annual Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing presented by XTRAMART.

An impressive roster of Modified drivers is expected for this fourth and final Tour-Type Modified race this season. It was a star studded field that competed in the September 2nd Tour-Type Modified event. Among those drivers were seven time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, Mike Stefanik, the former WMT champ, Ted Christopher, Thompson 300 winner Ed Flemke, Jr, and Icebreaker winner, Bobby Santos. Other Modified standouts in the starting lineup were Ryan Preece, Richard Savary, Ronnie Silk and WMT rookie sensation Justin Bonsignore. It is expected that even more of the top Modified race teams will be on hand for this 40-lap, $2500.00 to win, shoot out.

In addition to the Tour-Type Modifieds, fans will enjoy Thompson’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series “Super 6” divisions as well. This will be an extremely important race for the track’s regular weekly competitors since this will be the final race of the season for which valuable track points will be awarded. Since Ted Christopher has already clinched the Sunoco Modified title and Chuck Rogers has secured the Mini Stock championship, four additional champions will be crowned in Thompson’s regular weekly racing divisions.

Continue reading ‘Tour-Type Modifieds Headline Sunday Race at Thompson’

September 2010
« Aug   Oct »