Archive for September 22nd, 2010

Connecticut’s Rocco Finally Earns NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Championship

Nebraska’s Preble finishes second; Howard of Penn., is third

Daytona Beach, FL — He clinched the championship with a month remaining in the season, but that didn’t make the news Wednesday any less sweet.

For Keith Rocco, the 2010 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion, it’s been a culmination of a lot of long nights in the shop and a number of near-misses over the previous seasons.

“It’s just been a dream season,” Rocco said. “It’s something you don’t think is possible. It has set in, but at the same time, I haven’t even had a chance to sit down and think about everything.”

Continue reading ‘Connecticut’s Rocco Finally Earns NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Championship’

Justin Bosignore & Richie Pallai, Jr. Dueling for Whelen Mdofieid Tour Sunoco Rookie of the Year Honors

Stafford Springs, CT — With a tight race for the championship on the Whelen Modified Tour this season, there is another tight battle brewing between Justin Bonsignore and Richie Pallai, Jr. for Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors. Bonsignore comes to Stafford leading Pallai 116-112 in the Rookie of the Year standings, having won 8 Rookie of the Race Awards to Pallai’s four this season. Bonsignore is currently 11th in the Whelen Modified Tour Standings, while Pallai is 13th in the standings, only 46 points behind Bonsignore.

“At the start of the season, I would say that we exceeded our goals,” said Bonsignore. “At the start of the season, we had a new car, a new team, and a new driver. As we got some good finishes, we adjusted our goals midway through the year. Lately we’ve had some hard luck getting finishes, so we’re hoping to get some good finishes in the last couple of races this year. We really weren’t concerned with winning the Rookie of the Year, but we’ve had good runs this year and now that it is something that we want to win. It’s a great honor and something that we can use to build on for next season.”

While Bonsignore is looking at winning the rookie title this season, Pallai and his team have a different outlook on the rookie duel.

Continue reading ‘Justin Bosignore & Richie Pallai, Jr. Dueling for Whelen Mdofieid Tour Sunoco Rookie of the Year Honors’

Mike Stefanik Making Late Season Charge into Championship Contention as Whelen Modfied Tour Heads to Stafford

Stafford Springs, CT — As the Whelen Modified Tour makes its penultimate stop of the 2010 season at Stafford Motor Speedway for the 38th Annual CARQUEST Fall Final Weekend on Oct. 1-Oct. 3, Mike Stefanik has charged back into championship contention on the strength of 5 consecutive top-5 finishes. The seven-time Whelen Modified Tour champion comes to Stafford, a track that he has won at 20 times in his career, only 7 points adrift of championship leader Bobby Santos, III.

“Racing is a crazy game,” said Stefanik. “I don’t really follow the points, I usually find that out from Julie or the media. All I know is that we are 7 points behind Bobby Santos. I couldn’t tell you if we had 600 points, 800 points, or 1200 points. We’ve had some real strong finishes and we’re just happy to be in contention again, we haven’t been in the championship the last couple of seasons.”

While Stefanik and the #16 Flamingo Motorsports / Sanderson-MacLeod team have climbed the ladder back into championship contention, they have yet to reach victory lane this year. Stefanik’s best finish of the 2010 season has been a second place at both Bristol and Stafford, and he says the team is focused on winning.

Continue reading ‘Mike Stefanik Making Late Season Charge into Championship Contention as Whelen Modfied Tour Heads to Stafford’

Statistical Advance: Analyzing the Tri-County 150 at Tri-County Motor Speedway

Daytona Beach, FL — The sixth season of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour continues this weekend when the tour visits Tri-County Motor Speedway for the first time in the history of the tour for the running of the Tri-County 150.

Up To Speed
• This will be fifth time the NWSMT has visited the state of North Carolina this season.

• The NWSMT has crowned four different champions: Junior Miller (2005, 2006), L.W. Miller (2007), Brian Loftin (2008), and George Brunnhoelzl III (2009).

Tri-County Motor Speedway Data
#9 of 10 (9-25-10)
Track Layout: .400-mile oval
Banking: semi-banked paved oval
Race Length: 150 laps/60 miles

Continue reading ‘Statistical Advance: Analyzing the Tri-County 150 at Tri-County Motor Speedway’

Another One for the Record Books

Loudon, NH — The largest sports and entertainment facility in New England once again hosted the biggest sporting event in the Northeast Region with NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series SYLVANIA 300 on Sunday, September 19.

Before an estimated crowd of 95,000 fans saw some of the best racing at “The Magic Mile”. The first race in the “Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup” saw many of the top-12 contenders racing like it was the final event of the season. Denny Hamlin spun on lap 215 but battled back to a solid second place finish. Tony Stewart ran out of gas just before the white flag waved, and four- time champion Jimmie Johnson finished 25th the worst finish of all 12 Chasers.

On track race fans saw great racing from all five series.

Continue reading ‘Another One for the Record Books’

Bertrand Motorsports Adds Cicconi, Carter for DAV, World Series

Brockton, MA — winner at Seekonk Speedway already this year, Lou Cicconi will be in the Bertrand #39 when the Northeastern Midget Association travels to the “cement palace” for the D.Anthony Venditti Memorial Oct. 9-10. Cole Carter, who has posted two “big track” thirds, will be back for Thompson Speedway’s World Series Oct 15-17. The car is powered by a “spec” engine from Esslinger Engineering that NEMA hopes to promote along with other “low cost” alternatives in 2011.

Both will be teammates to Randy Cabral in the #47. The point battle between Cabral and Russ Stoehr in the Dumo’s Desire #45, takes top billing as NEMA ends the season with the two traditional stops. The Bertrand pit also includes the Chris deRitis driven #75 car.

The dynamic Cicconi, who won on Open Wheel Wednesday for the Seymour team, is no stranger to Bertrand equipment. He won three times for Bertrand back in 2007, two of them coming at “The Konk.”

Continue reading ‘Bertrand Motorsports Adds Cicconi, Carter for DAV, World Series’

September 2010
« Aug   Oct »