Archive for October 7th, 2010

Whelen Modified Tour Champion to be Crowned at Thompson

Santos Holds Upper Hand Headed into Season Finale

Daytona Beach, FL — For the 17th time in the 26-year history of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Thompson (Conn.) International Speedway will be the site of the Tour’s season finale, and for the third year in a row the Sunoco World Series of Speedway racing will determine the Tour champion.

Just 37 points will separate leader Bobby Santos from second-place Mike Stefanik as the Whelen Modified Tour makes its third and final stop of the year at Thompson. Santos was the victor in the Tour’s season-opening race at the .625-mile speedway in April, and has maintained the points lead following 11 of the 12 races since.

In the two previous seasons, the driver with the lead coming into the World Series has held serve. Ted Christopher carried a 35-point lead on Matt Hirschman and wound up in Victory Lane to clinch his first Whelen Modified Tour championship in 2008. A year ago, Donny Lia possessed a 26-point advantage on Ryan Preece and, although Preece finished second in the race, Lia’s fourth-place effort was more than enough to clinch his second crown in three years.

Continue reading ‘Whelen Modified Tour Champion to be Crowned at Thompson’

Close Finishes and Tight Championship Battles Highlight IndyCar Racing!

Loudon, NH — New England race fans saw him zip around “The Magic Mile” in June approaching speeds of up to 200 mph, and now Dario Franchitti has been crowned IZOD IndyCar Champion for the third time in four years.

Franchitti and all of the IZOD IndyCar Series stars will race “The Magic Mile” on August 14, 2011, bringing a third major motorsports event to New Hampshire.

The IZOD IndyCar Series always brings close wheel- to- wheel action wherever it races. Since 2001, 69 IZOD IndyCar races have had a margin of victory of less than one second, and the Championship has been decided during the last race for the past five seasons.

Continue reading ‘Close Finishes and Tight Championship Battles Highlight IndyCar Racing!’

WMT Championship to be Decided at Thompson

Thompson, CT — The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship will once again be decided at the Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing presented by XTRA MART. With very few exceptions, the WMT championship is determined each year at Thompson in the Tour’s final race of the season. The October 15th-17th race weekend thus becomes the most important race of the season for the drivers in contention for the crown.

Going into the Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing, Bobby Santos holds a slim 37 points advantage over seven-time Tour champion Mike Stefanik. Ronnie Silk is only 99 points out and defending champion, Ted Christopher finds himself with a 113 points deficit. All four drivers have visited victory lane at Thompson this season so the competition could not be better.

Santos kicked off his season with a win at Thompson’s Icebreaker in April and had another great run, finishing 3rd, in the WMT Bud 150 in August. Stefanik claimed a 3rd Place finish at the Icebreaker and 5th in the August outing. Silk was a bit off his normal pace back in April when he scored an 8th place finish but roared back in August to finish 2nd. Christopher ran to a 4th place finish in the season opener but came back with win a win the August race.

Continue reading ‘WMT Championship to be Decided at Thompson’

October 2010
« Sep   Nov »