Archive for October 9th, 2010

Jason Bonnett Crowned 2010 Bond/WIX Tiger Tour Champion

Tony Rossi Wins John Clark Memorial 101 at Riverside Speedway

Peacham, Vermont’s Tony Rossi earned his first Bond/WIX Tiger Tour win of the season in the John Clark Memorial 101 at Riverside Speedway in Groveton, NH on Saturday, October 9, 2010. The 2010 Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen Thunder Road Track Champion led the final six laps to take the win.

Hinesburg’s Tom Therrien claimed second, followed by Derrick O’Donnell, Brendan Moodie and Eric Badore to complete the top five. St. Albans, Vermont’s Jason Bonnett claimed the 2010 Bond/WIX Tiger Tour Championship with his sixth place finish. Bonnett led Therrien by nine points going into the fourth and final event. Erik Steel, Jeff Marshall, Mike Martin and Jimmy Hebert completed the top ten.

The 2010 American Canadian Tour season will come to a close tomorrow (Sunday, October 10) with the Waterford 150 at Waterford Speedbowl in Waterford, CT. Twenty-five cars competed in Saturday’s (October 9) qualifying and twenty-four will take the green in Sunday’s main event. Post time is 12:30pm.
Continue reading ‘Jason Bonnett Crowned 2010 Bond/WIX Tiger Tour Champion’

Coury Jr., Cassidy Jr., Beal, D’addario & Sweet find Victory Lane; Christopher sets fast time for Budweiser Modified Nationals

Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl was in action with day one of Finale Weekend on Saturday. Qualifying for the Budweiser Modified Nationals and ACT-150 events was completed on the day. Ted Christopher of Plainville took the Bud Pole Award for the $5,000 to win SK Modified® race setting a fast lap of 14.061 seconds in time trials. Five feature events were also completed on the day with Wayne Coury Jr. of Milford found the winner’s circle in the Outlaw Stock race while Allen Coates of Ledyard was the winner of the Trucks in competition for the race. Speedbowl Mini Stock champion Ken Cassidy Jr. of Lisbon took the checkered flag in the Outlaw Mini Stock feature. Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday champions Charles Beal of Ledyard and Dan D’addario of Columbia took down wins in the Super X and X-Car features, while Nick Sweet from Barre, VT was the Allison Legacy Series race winner.

In Budweiser Modified National time trials, Christopher tied the previous division record lap to take the $500.00 bonus. He bested Shawn Solomito, Jeff Rocco, 2010 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion Keith Rocco and defending event winner Ron Yuhas Jr. The top-20 cars were qualified by time with 2004 track champion Ed Reed Jr. winning the consolation race. Reed was qualifying the car for fellow racer Justin Gaydosh who will start scratch in the event. Seven-time track champion Dennis Gada took a past champion’s provisional to enter tomorrow’s 150-lap race which will start 27 cars.

ACT Tour Late Model qualifying was also complete, setting the stage for their 150-lap season ending event. Speedbowl regular Joe Curioso, series leader Brian Hoar, and veteran racer Jean-Paul Cyr were the qualifying event winners.

[Sat. Photo Gallery] by Adam Fohlin
[Sun. Photo Gallery] by Adam Fohlin

Continue reading ‘Coury Jr., Cassidy Jr., Beal, D’addario & Sweet find Victory Lane; Christopher sets fast time for Budweiser Modified Nationals’

October 2010
« Sep   Nov »