December 15, 2010

Touring Series Trio Named All-America

Filed under: NASCAR K&N Pro Series East,NASCAR WMT — mod134 @ 4:00 pm

Santos, Truex, Holmes Earn AARWBA Recognition

Daytona Beach, FL — NASCAR touring series drivers Bobby Santos, Ryan Truex and Eric Holmes were recently named to the 2010 All-America Racing Team by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association.

The 2010 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, Santos earned First Team All-America status in the Touring Series category. Santos, from Franklin, Mass., registered four wins during his first Whelen Modified Tour title campaign. The youngest champion in Tour history at 25, he became the first driver from the Modified ranks to garner First Team honors by the AARWBA.

Truex, from Mayetta, N.J., was selected Second Team All-America in the Touring Series category. The 18-year-old repeated as NASCAR K&N Pro Series East champion in 2010 with a pair of wins and top fives in eight of the season’s 10 races.

Holmes captured his third NASCAR K&N Pro Series West title in 2010, and was tabbed by the AARWBA as an Honorable Mention selection in the Touring Series category. The 36-year-old from Escalon, Calif., found Victory Lane five times, which tied for the most among all of NASCAR’s touring series competitors.

Also listed was Patrick Long, who competed in four combined K&N Pro Series West and East races this past season. The accomplished road racer was named First Team All-America in the At Large category.

Each of the honorees will be recognized at the All-America Banquet on Jan. 9, 2011 in Indianapolis, Ind.

Santos, Truex and Holmes – along with Long – have guaranteed starting positions in the NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown by virtue of their performances this past season. NASCAR’s premier short-track event will be held on Jan. 28-29 at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale (Calif.).

OPEN WHEEL Dario Franchitti, Will Power
STOCK CAR Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch
ROAD RACING Scott Pruett/Memo Rojas, David Brabham/Simon Pagenaud
DRAG RACING John Force, Larry Dixon
SHORT TRACK Bryan Clauson, Levi Jones
TOURING SERIES Todd Bodine, Bobby Santos
OFF-ROAD & RALLY Rob MacCachren, Ricky Johnson & Antoine L’Estage/Nathalie Richard (tie)
AT LARGE Jörg Bergmeister/Patrick Long, Frank Manzo
OPEN WHEEL Helio Castroneves, Ryan Briscoe
STOCK CAR Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski
ROAD RACING Tony Ave, Jon Fogarty/Alex Gurney
DRAG RACING Tony Schumacher, Matt Hagan
SHORT TRACK Jason Myers, Tim Shaffer
TOURING SERIES: Ryan Truex, Patrick Sheltra
AT LARGE J.K. Vernay, Peter Cunningham
HONORABLE MENTION (At least 5% of the vote, five votes minimum)
OPEN WHEEL Tony Kanaan
STOCK CAR Kevin Harvick, Jamie McMurray
ROAD RACING Max Angelelli/Ricky Taylor
TOURING SERIES Clay Rogers, Eric Holmes
OFF-ROAD & RALLY Jesse Jones, Tom Lawless
AT LARGE Randy Pobst, Von Smith
RISING STAR (All who received at least five votes)
J.K. Vernay (IRL Indy Lights)
Austin Dillon (NASCAR Trucks)
Kody Swanson (USAC)
James Hinchcliffe (IRL Indy Lights)
Ricky Taylor (Grand-Am Daytona Prototype)
LE Tonglet (NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle) [write-in]
Scott Tucker (ALMS LMP Challenge)
Jonathan Bomarito (Grand-Am GT)
Robert Stout (SCCA World Challenge)
Tanner Swanson (USAC)
Lucas Wolfe (WoO Sprint Cars)

Sources: Jason Cunningham/NASCAR PR

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress