Archive for May 8th, 2011

Vanasse, Martin, Axon, Buffington and Rain Take May 7 Features

Seekonk, MA — Warwick’s Ryan Vanasse was up to his old tricks, quickly coming to the front of the Late Model feature race, then dominating the rest of the way to the finish. He started the race behind polesitter Jeramee “The Hammer” Lillie from West Warwick, spent four laps edging by, and led the final 26 laps to the checkers.

Lillie had problems on the initial green flag, stalling as the field came up to speed. Ron Barboza, Jr., starting 4 rows back, bore the brunt of the action, as he nosed into Randy Burr, cracking a piece of his nose, dropping it on the track. He was black-flagged, as body metal attached to the lost piece was hanging out from the driver’s side, and retired on the fourth lap.

After working under Lillie into the lead, Vanasse led Lillie, Fall River’s John Paiva, Dylan Estrella of North Attleboro, Middleboro driver Randy Burr and Pawtucket’s Gerry DeGasparre, Jr., followed by last week’s winner, Matt Breault from Acushnet. Vanasse was holding a 5-car lead by lap 9.

[Photo Galleryby Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Vanasse, Martin, Axon, Buffington and Rain Take May 7 Features’

Joe Krawiec Takes Dirt Midget Ass’n Opener at Bear Ridge

USAC Dirt Midget Association Race Results – May 28, 2011
Bradford, Vermont – Bear Ridge Speedway

Joe Krawiec of Bristol, CT piloted Skip Matczak’s Seals-It sponsored Midget to victory in the first race of the new USAC Dirt Midget Association at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT. With just three laps remaining, Krawiec took the lead from former Bear Ridge Coupe Champion Kevin Chaffee of Fairlee, VT, who was making his first start in a Midget.

FRIST HEAT (10 laps) 1. Joe Krawiec (#4 Matczak), 2. Tim Gallant (#72 Tefft), 3. Ray Miller (#1 Miller), 4. Dean Christenson (#2 Miller), 5. Thom Ring (#6x Douville), 6. David Rose, Jr. (#11 Rose), 7. Doug Meyer (#9 Meyer), 8. Jamie Spalding (#93 Tefft). NT

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Kevin Chaffee (#3 Matczak), 2. Jim Mossman (#1 Mossman), 3. Dana Shaw (#7 Olson), 4. Jim Close (#7x Close), 5. Greg Olson (#6 Olson), 6. Scott Holcomb (#33 Holcomb), DNS: Jeff Horn (#27 Tefft). NT.

FEATURE: (20 laps) 1. Joe Krawiec, 2. Kevin Chaffee, 3. Dana Shaw, 4. Jim Close, 5. Ray Miller, 6. Dean Christenson, 7. Greg Olson, 8. Thom Ring, 9. Jim Mossman, 10. Doug Meyer, 11. David Rose, Jr., 12. Jeff Horn, 13. Scott Holcomb, 14. Jamie Spalding, 15. Tim Gallant. NT

Continue reading ‘Joe Krawiec Takes Dirt Midget Ass’n Opener at Bear Ridge’

Date Set for NEAR Show & Barbeque at Ron Bouchard’s Auto Stores

Once again, New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame member Ron Bouchard will host the New England Antique Racers (NEAR), at his annual still show & barbeque.

To be held at Ron Bouchard’s Auto Stores at 500 Old Union Turnpike in Lancaster, Massachusetts, things gets underway at 9:00 am on Saturday, September 3.

On the agenda is a display featuring several race cars of the New England Antique racers along with a barbeque. Past events have proven to be a popular affair. It’s a chance for fans to get up close & personal with some of the most-revered personalities in New England auto racing history.

All members of the New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame are encouraged to attend.

Continue reading ‘Date Set for NEAR Show & Barbeque at Ron Bouchard’s Auto Stores’

Pearl, Thomas, Puleo and Williams claim NWAAS wins on the night

Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl endured a rain delay courtesy of Mother Nature Saturday evening and rebounded to complete a five-division NASCAR Whelen All-American Series race program plus the Beaver Bat Homerun Derby on Little League Night, presented by Suisman Shapiro. Jeff Pearl of Salem bested the field of SK Modifieds® to capture his 35th career victory. Bruce Thomas Jr. of Groton claimed the 45th win of his Bob Valenti Auto Mall Late Model career, taking the evening’s 30-lap event. Ed Puleo of Branford overcame an intense battle in a special 50-lap Street Stock race, his second victory on the season while Chris Williams of Niantic was the winner of the 25-lap Mini Stock feature. Ryan Bigelow of East Hampton won in the visiting NEMA Lite Series 25-lap race.

Before the main racing events, the Beaver Bat Homerun Derby kicked off Little League Night festivities. Ten Speedbowl racers were teamed up with ten youth from the grandstands in a wiffle ball derby on the Speedbowl frontstretch. Winning the event was 2009 SK Modified® track champion Ron Yuhas Jr. of Groton, who was teamed with nine-year-old Chris White of Montville. Each of the ten youth participating received gifts courtesy of Suisman Shapiro Law Firm and Beaver Bats, as well as autographed material from the Speedbowl drivers.

In racing action, after a false start on the initial attempt to start the 35-lap SK Modified® feature Tucker Reynolds Jr. took command over Glenn Pressel once the race got underway. Nichole Morgillo got out of shape in turn three on lap-1, continuing on without caution at the tail of the field.

Continue reading ‘Pearl, Thomas, Puleo and Williams claim NWAAS wins on the night’

May 2011
« Apr   Jun »