Archive for August 8th, 2011

Mike Stefanik, RPM Motorsports Team Up For ACT All-Star Challenge At New Hampshire Motor Speedway

The all-time winningest driver in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour history will drive an RPM Motorsports car in the ACT All-Star Challenge at New Hampshire Motor Speedway this weekend, RPM owner Rick Paya announced Monday.

Stefanik, who is one of only two drivers in history to win nine NASCAR touring championships, will drive the No. 57 RPM Racing Engines Ford as he makes his debut in an ACT Late Model.

“The whole newness of it is what’s exciting for me,” said Stefanik, who has eight career wins at New Hampshire, including six in a Modified. “I really don’t know what to expect. I’ve been told that I’ve got a really good car, and it usually comes down to the car.

“As long as I’m smart with it, I should be OK. It will be on-the-job training.”

Continue reading ‘Mike Stefanik, RPM Motorsports Team Up For ACT All-Star Challenge At New Hampshire Motor Speedway’

Late Models Get Extra Distance Race This Thursday at Thompson

Thompson, CT — Late Model stock cars have played a major role in the success of Thursday night racing at the Thompson International Speedway. This week, August 11th, the race teams in the Late Model division will find themselves faced with the biggest challenge of the year. A 40-lap main event will bring out the best in each team as they will seek the coveted win of this extra distance race.

Current points leader in the Late Model division, Tommy O’Sullivan, will be the driver to beat. O’Sullivan has garnered four wins this season and has accumulated 520 track points. Rick Gentes, on the other hand, has three wins and lags in the points chase with a total of 480. In spite of the fact that O’Sullivan and Gentes top the wins and a points list, John Meteras has collected two wins with Mike Scorzelli and John Falconi each having one victory. Drivers Marc Palmisano, Phil Rondeau, Randy Tucker and Damon Tinio are also seen as potential winners since each of these drivers has shown victory lane potential all season long.

In addition to the full complement of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions, including the Late Model 40-lap special, the New England Truck Series will also be on hand for the first of two appearances at Thompson this season. Andy Linderman sits atop the points standings but Corey Coates has landed the most wins this year in the N. E. Truck Series. Coates has collected three victories this season with Howard Payne and Jonathon Avery also visiting victory lane. Duane Noll and Ronnie Oldham are also contenders for a win. Thompson Int’l Speedway is biggest track on the Truck Series schedule and that alone could easily throw open the gates to victory lane to any of the division’s hot shoes.

Continue reading ‘Late Models Get Extra Distance Race This Thursday at Thompson’

August 2011
« Jul   Sep »