Archive for June 17th, 2012

Brad Scott Memorial wins go to Ryan Vanasse, Jeramee Lillie, Mike Cavallaro and Chris DeMoura

Seekonk, MA — Warwick RI’s Ryan Vanasse picked up the lead during the middle portion of the 40 lap Pro Stock feature, and held off 6 time Pro Stock Champion Fred Astle and Tom Scully Sr in a late race restart to pick up his second Pro Stock win of the season. Kyle Casper brought the field down for the green, and Somerset native set the pace through the early goings.

Casper held off the charges of Tom Scully Sr for the first dozen laps before Dave Darling came through the field and challenged for the lead. While racing out of turn two, contact was made, putting Casper around. Darling was penalized for contact. Vanasse inherited the lead and set a torrid pace for the middle portion of the event. As the laps were winding down, a late race caution bunched the field for a 5 lap shootout. When the green dropped, Astle moved under Scully and made a daring 3 wide move under Scully and Vanasse. The A & A Auto Parts Chevy found some extra grip when most needed, and Vanasse was able to thwart off the challenge and held on for the win. Astle had to settle for second, while Darling worked his way back through the field for a third place finish. Scully Sr was fourth with Dick Houlihan fifth. Kyle Casper, Ken Spencer, Tom Scully Jr, Dave Silvia and Mike Brightman rounded out the top ten.

Jeramee Lillie of West Warwick RI broke a 4 year winless streak, picking up the win in the 30 lap Late Model main. Lillie took off from his outside pole starting position and never looked back. After holding off Ron Barboza Jr through an early race restart, Lillie took over and Hammered Down to pick up the Late Model win. Dylan Estrella moved into second early on, but could never quite close in the gap. Bill Bernard, Gerry DeGasparre and Bobby Pelland III rounded out the top five. Tyler Thompson, Dennis Stampfl, Barboza, Dave Hutchins Jr and Danny Thibeault rounded out the top ten.

[Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Brad Scott Memorial wins go to Ryan Vanasse, Jeramee Lillie, Mike Cavallaro and Chris DeMoura’

Hirschman Goes to Star Victory Lane in SBM 125 II

Epping, NH – Star Speedway’s second annual SBM 125 for Modifieds attracted a star-studded field of entries representing several different touring series, including several drivers with championships on their resumes.

A quick time trial session was run to set the lineup for the qualifying heats, with Todd Szegedy setting fast time at 12.291 seconds. Szegedy, Ryan Preece, and Bobby Santos III grabbed the heat race wins, with Doug Coby taking the last chance qualifier that set the final starting positions for the 24-car, 125-lap main event.

An inversion of the top six put Mike Stefanik on the pole, and he was the first pace the field and collect lap leader bonus money. Defending race winner Jon McKennedy and Preece also spent some time out front pocketing bonus money, but when it counted, the driver out front was Northampton, PA’s Matt Hirschman.

[Photo Gallery] by Adam Fohlin
[Photo Gallery] by Crystal Snape

Continue reading ‘Hirschman Goes to Star Victory Lane in SBM 125 II’

June 2012
« May   Jul »