Archive for June 30th, 2012

VMRS: Les Hinckley Tops Field at Lee USA

Friday June 29th the Lee USA Speedway hosted the Valenti Modified Racing Series for the Port City 100, presented by Laticrete.The 100 laps may have gotten off to a cool calm collected start, but heated up with an exciting run to the finish. The field was brought to green by a pair of two-time MRS Champions, Jon McKennedy of E. Chelmsford MA in the SPAFCO #2, and Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, CT in the family owned #5CT.

McKennedy shot out to an early lead, but on lap 5, Pasteryak, Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, PA in the Rosco Racing #25 and Les Hinckley from Windsor Locks, CT #06 passed the leader. Pasteryak's lead would only last until lap 18 when Pennink and Hinckley worked their way to the top two spots.The #25 and the #06 ran bumper to bumper pulling away from the field until the first caution on lap 58.

McKennedy charged to the front again, taking over the lead on lap 83, bringing the rookie Tommy Barrett #9 right behind him. The next caution came on lap 89 when Hinckley spun, dropping him to the rear of the field. On the 90 restart, McKennedy and Barrett came together in turns three and four in front of the pack of oncoming cars. Seven cars were involved in this chain reaction, eliminating Holdridge #0, Jarvis #28, and the Goodenough #1.

[Photo Gallery] by Crystal Snape

Continue reading ‘VMRS: Les Hinckley Tops Field at Lee USA’

Keith Rocco Wins 39th Annual Coors Light SK Modified® 100 at Stafford Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Speedway’s SK Modifieds® took center stage on Friday, June 29th with the 39th Annual running of the Coors Light SK Modified® 100. Keith Rocco took the checkered flag in the extra distance classic for his first win of the 2012 season, Corey Hutchings was a first time 2012 winner in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Tony Membrino, Jr. was a career first time winner in the 20-lap SK Light feature, Josh Wood picked up his 5th win of the 2012 season in the extra distance Limited Late Model feature, and Kyle Casagrande took home his fourth win of the season in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature.

In the 39th Annual Coors Light 100, Glen Reen took the early lead from the pole and set the pace for the first 3 laps before Dan Avery got a good run to the inside of Reen on lap-4. Reen fought hard on the outside and he managed to stay ahead of Avery until lap-6 when Avery moved to the front. The caution came out with 6 laps complete for a spin by Brian Sullivan.

On the restart, Michael Bennett and Nick Boivin began to shower sparks with flat tires and the caution came back out. Avery took the lead back under green with Reen holding off Matt Galko for second. Matt Gallo was fourth behind Galko, and Ted Christopher was fifth behind Gallo. Ryan Preece, Woody Pitkat, Danny Cates, Tom Bolles, and Sean Foster made up the remainder of the top-10 with 10 laps complete.

[Photo Gallery] by Nicholas Teto

Continue reading ‘Keith Rocco Wins 39th Annual Coors Light SK Modified® 100 at Stafford Speedway’

June 2012
« May   Jul »