Archive for January 13th, 2013

Helliwell, Laperle Take Top Honors at ACT Banquet; Richard Green Wins Prestigious MacTavish Award

2012 American Canadian Tour Champion Wayne Helliwell, Jr., and 2012 Série ACT Castrol Champion Patrick Laperle were the stars of the ACT Banquet at the Doubletree Inn in Burlington, VT on Saturday, January 12th, earning the highest awards for their respective titles. ACT awarded over $700,000 in point funds and event purses to teams in 2012.

Helliwell was honored after one of the most entertaining point-battles of ACT’s history, beating out eight-time Tour Champion Brian Hoar in an epic battle for his first-ever ACT Championship. He won four races in 2012, including his first-career ACT victory, and only finished worse than seventh once. He won $10,000 for his ACT Championship, but also picked up an additional $5,000 from the Ford point fund for winning the Ford Blue Oval Challenge for a record third time in a row.

Laperle enjoyed a comeback year on the Série ACT Castrol. After falling as low as sixth in the beginning of the season, Laperle surged for four wins and nine top-fives to claim an unprecedented third Castrol Series Championship, along with a $10,000 check. Laperle, now with 17 feature victories, sits just one win away from having the most in Series history.

The prestigious MacTavish Award was given to car owner Richard Green of Enosburg Falls, VT. Green, who in 2012 owned the 16VT of Joey Becker and the 16NY car on the ACT Tour, was given the award for the first time for his dedication and loyalty to ACT, and his contributions to the sport of auto racing.

Continue reading ‘Helliwell, Laperle Take Top Honors at ACT Banquet; Richard Green Wins Prestigious MacTavish Award’

Waterford Spedbowl Celebrates 2012 Track Champions

Tyler Chadwick honored as 63rd Modified Track Champion; Dillon Moltz, Walt Hovey, Ken Cassidy Jr. and Paul French join Chadwick as NASCAR Whelen All-American Series titlists; Paul Kusheba, Jacob Urch, Dan Butler and Wayne Shifflett other Saturday division champs

Waterford, CT — Over 500 guests packed Groton Inn & Suites Saturday evening to celebrate Waterford Speedbowl’s 2012 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series and other Saturday series track champions. Tyler Chadwick took home the hardware for his first career track championship in the SK Modified® division. Joining Chadwick as first time champions were Dillon Moltz, who won the Late Model division title and Walt Hovey Jr., champion in the Street Stocks. Ken Cassidy Jr. and Paul French each added a title to their racing resumes in the Mini Stock and SK Light Modified divisions respectively, rounding out the Speedbowl’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series track champions. Paul Kusheba led the Speedbowl’s other Saturday division titlists which included Dan Butler, Wayne Shifflett and Jacob Urch.

In addition to the champions, a total of 70 race teams and drivers were recognized Saturday evening for their achievements on the track during 2012. Special awards for the Top Rookie Driver, Sportsman of the Year, Most Improved Driver and Pit Crew of the Year were named in the SK Modifieds®, Bob Valenti Auto Mall Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, SK Light Modifieds and Legends Cars.

Chadwick, of Ledyard (CT), became the youngest SK Modified® champion in Speedbowl history at 24 years of age. He bested Jeff Pearl of Salem in a fight for the title that went down to the final event of the year. Chadwick posted five victories on the year in 22 events. Consistent top runs over the second half of the season put Chadwick in position to close out the title run over the final weeks of competition. Jeff Chadwick, Tyler’s father, was awarded the SK Modified® championship car owner hardware. The elder Chadwick’s determination and support for his son’s racing career has been the core of their success since Tyler was seven years old, culminating in their first Speedbowl title. It was Chadwick’s eighth full season competing in the division and he plans to defend his championship in 2013.

Continue reading ‘Waterford Spedbowl Celebrates 2012 Track Champions’

January 2013
« Dec   Feb »