Lee USA Speedway 8/516 Race Report

Lee, NH – North Ridgeville, Ohio’s Dave Shullick, Jr. scored his second straight win in Lee USA Speedway’s “Ollie Silva Memorial Classic” for the high-powered machines of the International Supermodified Association (ISMA), as the open-wheelers put on a tremendous show in front of a packed house at “New Hampshire’s Center of Speed”.

Former Lee champion Dan Bowes of Byfield, MA and Mike McVetta of Wellington, OH led the field to the green flag, with McVetta out quickly to set the pace. McVetta remained at the head of the field through the halfway mark, collecting a cool $1,000 bonus from longtime Supermodified supporter Ed Shea of Shea Concrete Products.

As the 75-lapper wore on, Canadian ace Mike Lichty got the better of McVetta on lap 49, but he could only hang on until lap 55, when Shullick completed his charge to the front after starting the race in the tenth spot. It was smooth sailing from there, as “Shoe II” went on to lead them under the checkers for his third overall Ollie Silva Memorial win.

Lichty held on to post a runner-up finish, with second-generation driver Mike Ordway, Jr. of nearby Fremont coming home third. Fourth went to Moe Lilje, with Trent Stephens of Ravenna, OH, four-time event winner Chris Perley of Rowley, MA, Timmy Jedrzejek of Independence, OH, Mark Sammut of London, Ontario, Danny Shirey of Amherst, OH, and Eddie Witkum, Jr. of Westford, MA rounding out the top ten.

Lee USA’s weekly EKeys4cars Supermodifieds ran a 30-lap feature event as part of the support program, and it was Tilton veteran Jim Lowrey who rolled into victory lane at the end of that one. Lowrey took over the driving duties in the Witkum Brothers entry earlier in the summer, and “new” team enjoyed their first trip to victory lane on ISMA night.

Lowrey broke past polesitter Mike Spurling of Rochester to grab the early lead, and he never looked back, leading every lap on his way to victory. Lance Barthelemy of Fremont was up in the late laps to take second place honors, with rookie contender Dave Helliwell of Pelham, Mike Keddy of Raymond, and Moe Lattime of Kingston third through fifth.

Bryan Kruczek of Newmarket continued his recent dominance in the R & R Public Wholesalers Late Model Sportsmen, winning for the third straight week aboard the Brian House entry. With the three-segment Seacoast Wholesale special in the middle of that streak, that makes it five wins in five starts this year.

Kris Miller of Bedford led the first lap before Pittsfield’s Jesse Bousquet moved by, but he was an easy target for Buxton, ME veteran Nate Leavitt, who slipped past on lap six and led the way to the crossed flags at halfway. With seven laps remaining in the 30-lap run, Kruczek made his move past Leavitt to the front, and it was all but over from there.

At the checkers, it was Kruczek in for the win, followed by Leavitt, Jimmy Russell of Exeter, Rookie of the Year contender Miller, George Helliwell of Pelham, Ray Dinsmore of Waterboro, ME, Bousquet, Steve Paquette of North Hampton, Trevor Randlett of Holderness, and Rich Glauben of Salem.

Defending champion Dennis Dumas of Chester made his first appearance of the 2016 campaign in the David’s Race Cars and Components Hobby Stocks, and he immediately returned to his winning ways, running his patented outside groove from a seventh place start to the lead and the eventual win.

Dumas looked right at home in the familiar surroundings of victory lane, now playing spoiler rather than championship contender with just five races left in the regular weekly schedule for the Hobbies. Last year he was a five-time visitor to victory lane during his championship run. Jake Michaud of Lebanon, ME and Eric Hoffman of Newmarket shared the post-race podium.

Jamie Holland led early and often in the Tri-City Line-X Ironman feature event, setting the pace over the first half of the race in search of his second win of the year. On lap 13 however, James Witkum of Methuen, MA moved past as they encountered lapped traffic, and he took over the top spot.

Witkum was unbeatable from there, leading the final eight circuits to post his third win of the 2016 season. Holland, opening night winner Jesse Tellier, rookie Ryan Washburn, Travis Hollins, Ryan Pitkin, Kaycie Kustra, defending champ Troy Washburn, Chris Howard , and Joe LaPorte were the rest of the top ten.

The MLM Diagnostics Pure Stock feature event was all Tyler Mailhot, as the Epping driver dominated to score the win over John Boomhower of Epping and Danielle Evans of Berwick, ME.

Sources: Lee USA Speedway PR

August 2016
« Jul   Sep »