Archive for September 1st, 2017

Pennink, Fearn, Griswold, Saunders, & Walker Score VRMS 80 Feature Wins at Stafford Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — Stafford Speedway returned to NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing action on Friday, September 1st with the Valenti Modified Racing Series in the house for the 8th Annual VMRS 80.  Taking down weekly feature wins on the night were Rowan Pennink in the SK Modified® feature, Tom Fearn in the Late Model feature, Glenn Griswold in the SK Light feature, Cliff Saunders in the Limited Late Model feature, and Johnny Walker in the DARE Stock feature.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Glen Reen took the early lead with Keith Rocco in second.  Tyler Hines was third with Josh Wood fourth and Matt Galko fifth in the early laps.  Rocco hounded Reen for the lead until lap-8 when he was able to make a move going into turn 3 to take over the race lead.  Rowan Pennink went around Galko to move into fifth on lap-10 with Hines and Wood still third and fourth.

Ted Christopher got around Wood to move into sixth on lap-13 and he was applying heavy pressure to Pennink for fifth when the caution came out with 17 laps complete for Tommy Membrino, Jr., who spun on the backstretch.

Continue reading ‘Pennink, Fearn, Griswold, Saunders, & Walker Score VRMS 80 Feature Wins at Stafford Speedway’

Rowan Pennink Scores Valenti Modified Racing Series Victory in 8th Annual VMRS 80 At Stafford Speedway

Stafford Springs, CT — The Valenti Modified Racing Series made its second of two visits during the 2017 season to Stafford Motor Speedway for the 8th Annual VMRS 80.  Taking the checkered flag was XXX

Dave Etheridge took the lead at the drop of the green flag with Rowan Pennink working his way around Dave Schneider to take second.  Dan Meservey, Jr. was third with Keith Rocco fourth.  Schneider slid back to fifth and he lost fifth on lap-4 to Carl Medeiros, Jr.  Blake Barney was on the charge early in the race, checking into the top-5 in the first 10 laps of the race after starting 12th.

Barney was now looking to the inside of Rocco for third and he took the spot on lap-14.  Medeiros spun on the frontstretch but was able to get his car going and the race stayed green.  Etheridge had pulled out to a slightly larger than a half second lead over Pennink, who now had Barney closing in on his back bumper as the field approached 20 laps complete in the race.  Andrew Molleur spun in turn 4 to bring the caution out with 25 laps complete.

Continue reading ‘Rowan Pennink Scores Valenti Modified Racing Series Victory in 8th Annual VMRS 80 At Stafford Speedway’

Dixon Finds Familiar Place Atop Watkins Glen Practice Chart

WATKINS GLEN, New York (Friday, Sept. 1, 2017) – Scott Dixon continued his mastery of Watkins Glen International, leading this afternoon’s second practice for the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen with the fastest lap of the day.

A year after pacing every practice session, winning the pole position and leading 50 of 60 laps on his way to victory, Dixon topped the end-of-day speed chart on the iconic road course. The driver of the No. 9 NTT Data Honda sped around the 11-turn, 3.37-mile circuit in 1 minute, 22.6187 seconds (146.843 mph) – less than a tenth of a second off the track record he set in capturing the Verizon P1 Award in qualifying in 2016.

“Just really enjoy it,” Dixon said of Watkins Glen. “It’s a fun place, man. It’s extremely fast. It’s definitely some pretty high-risk situations.

Continue reading ‘Dixon Finds Familiar Place Atop Watkins Glen Practice Chart’

“What They’re Saying” from INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen practice

SIMON PAGENAUD (No. 1 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet): “We made a few changes to the Menards Chevy and we made some gains in the second session today. I think we are getting closer. But it looks like weather is going to play a factor this weekend so we have to keep an eye on that and figure out the best way to adjust. I feel good about the direction we are going.”

JOSEF NEWGARDEN (No. 2 DeVilbiss Team Penske Chevrolet): “It was a good day for the DeVilbiss Chevrolet team. I think there are still some things to find and some room to grow. The pace of the car is good, but the differences are so small in the Verizon IndyCar Series. You can’t leave a stone unturned. If you do, then you’re behind. We’ll continue to look at the data and collect all of the information from my teammates. It’s important to have it ready for qualifying tomorrow, so that’s what we’ll do.”

HELIO CASTRONEVES (No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet): “We were really happy with the Hitachi Chevy in the second practice session. We made a lot of improvements from the morning. We ran into a little traffic and we had a little incident where we went off track briefly, but after we came in and looked at the car we actually went faster so it was all good. I’m really looking forward to qualifying tomorrow.”

Continue reading ‘“What They’re Saying” from INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen practice’

Ace USAC Eastern Speed2s Rained Out

Ace Speed2s Rained Out
Altamahaw, NC……..Rain has forced cancellation of tonight’s (Sept. 1) USAC Speed2 Eastern Midget race at Ace Speedway, The series continues Saturday night at Hickory (NC) Motor Speedway.

Continue reading ‘Ace USAC Eastern Speed2s Rained Out’

Illini Natives Have Winning History in “Ted Horn 100” at Du Quoin

No less than 14 participants in this Sunday, September 3rd’s “Ted Horn 100” at Du Quoin have ties to the home soil of Illinois whether they are a car owner or driver. Little wonder that some on the USAC Silver Crown entry list might feel they have a ‘home field’ advantage as the series comes to the Du Quoin State Fair. There is reason for optimism among the Illini crowd.

Nine different Illinois drivers account for 16 championship dirt car victories on the Magic Mile. In fact, in the last ten years, five Ted Horn 100 races have been won by a driver with ties to the state of Illinois.

Drivers from Illinois in 2017 include Shane Cockrum of Benton, Patrick Bruns of Champaign, Chris Windom of Canton, Terry Babb of Decatur, Patrick Lawson of Edwardsville, David Shain of Sullivan, Chris Urish of Elkhart, Shane Cottle of Kansas (now in Kokomo, IN), J.C. Bland, Korey Weyant and Joey Moughan, all of Springfield.

Continue reading ‘Illini Natives Have Winning History in “Ted Horn 100” at Du Quoin’

September 2017
« Aug   Oct »