Archive for the 'Perris' Category

15th “Sokola Shootout” Opens USAC/CRA at Perris Saturday

A tradition dating back to 2001 celebrates its 15th running Saturday night at Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway as the “Sokola Shootout” opens the 2017 AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Championship.

The event honors the memory of former USAC and CRA Sprint Car competition director Gary Sokola and his son Mark, who competed in numerous USAC events as a driver. Inaugurated at Manzanita Speedway in Phoenix, Ariz., the event returns to The PAS Saturday.

Tony Jones won the 2001 inaugural, while Jeremy Sherman (2002-2003), Cory Kruseman (2004), Rickie Gaunt (2005 & 2009), Mike Kirby (2006), Damion Gardner (2010 and 2014), Mike Spencer (2011), Nic Faas (2012), Bryan Clauson (2013 and 2016) and Richard Vander Weerd (2015) have been fortunate enough to inscribe their names in the record books as “Sokola Shootout” Champions. The event was not presented in 2007 or 2008.

Continue reading ’15th “Sokola Shootout” Opens USAC/CRA at Perris Saturday’

Clauson Circulates into Another Pair of Wins on Busy Weekend

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. (March 10, 2016) – A busy five-race weekend over the course of four days netted Bryan Clauson another pair of feature wins in Nevada and California as the “Circular Insanity Tour” race count climbed to 27.

In the pursuit of 200 races in 2016, Clauson picked off his sixth win of the year in USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast action at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on Friday night before running the win total to seven with a USAC/CRA Sokola Shootout score on Saturday at Perris Auto Speedway. Both triumphs came aboard Mike Martin’s Cancer Treatment Centers of America/Jonathan Byrd’s Restaurant and Hospitality Group No. 16b.

Mix in three nights of strong World of Outlaws competition in the Cancer Treatment Centers of America/Elk Grove Ford No. 17w Sprint Car and it was a fast-paced weekend to be sure.
Continue reading ‘Clauson Circulates into Another Pair of Wins on Busy Weekend’

Bell Ready to Feast on Turkey Night after Podium Weekend at Western World

NORMAN, Okla. (November 26, 2014) – After a weekend full of podiums and his 26th win of the year, it all comes down to Turkey Night for Christopher Bell in his pursuit of a second consecutive USAC National Midget title.

With Friday night’s Western World Championships preliminary victory his 16th triumph among the Midget ranks in 2014, the accolades have already started coming in for the Norman, OK, driver including the Badger Midget championship and then National Midget Driver of the Year honors for the second year in a row.

Now, 26 points is all that separates the 19-year-old from the top spot on the USAC National Midget point charts occupied by his Keith Kunz Motorsports teammate, Rico Areu.

Continue reading ‘Bell Ready to Feast on Turkey Night after Podium Weekend at Western World’

Darland Dodges Trouble to Win 73rd “Turkey Night Grand Prix”

Perris, California — Dave Darland added to his legacy and joined select company in Thursday night’s 73rd “Turkey Night Grand Prix” at Perris Auto Speedway. The Lincoln, Indiana veteran avoided a late-race mishap for leader Damion Gardner to win the 98-lap classic and join Mel Kenyon and Stan Fox as the only drivers to win the Thanksgiving race on both dirt and pavement.

Darland took the lead a lap after halfway but appeared to be headed for a runner-up finish until Gardner lost a left-rear wheel on lap 95. He maneuvered the final four circuits unchallenged and won by .823-seconds in the Keith Ford-owned King Racing Products – A&A Precision Machine #73 Ellis/Fontana.

“It was definitely a roller-coaster race. Gardner was definitely strong, and it looked like he had it won. We were lucky to get past him when he broke and it was the break we needed. It’s great to win this race on dirt after winning it before on pavement. I’ve had a great time running for Keith & Josh Ford and their crew chief Jimmy May, so I’m happy to get them their first Turkey Night win. This place has been pretty good to me,” Darland said.

Continue reading ‘Darland Dodges Trouble to Win 73rd “Turkey Night Grand Prix”’

March 2017
« Feb